Gustin and Gifford post wins at the Boone Speedway

July 3, 2010

A warm night saw hot action on the track at the Boone Speedway this past Saturday night.  This would be a prelude to the following night's action for the 4th of July spectacular — the 4th Annual Eve of Destruction. 

In the Dwar/Mod Lite feature, it would be Charlie Brown visiting the winner's circle for the first time this year.  Brown jumped to the lead from his outside front row starting position, never to look back as he led the entire race. It was Ed Zehm who made up a lot of ground to take second after kissing the backstretch wall early.  Zehm had to settle for second this week after his two previous week's wins.  Oberembt was scored in third after Zehm made the pass around him and Josh May came from starting twelveth, to take fourth.  Rounding out the top five was Matthew Goodin.

The IMCA Northern SportMods had to complete their 24-car starting field by running a B Main which was won by Cory Rose, last week's feature winner.  Jason Purvis was the early leader until Eric Elliott made the pass into first with eight laps down.  Jared Timmerman made his way into second place and chased Elliott to the completion of the event as they finished first and second. Third went to Jeremy Embrey, fourth to Jason Purvis and fifth to Tom Burke. 

The next feature to pull onto the track, was the IMCA modifieds.  Richie Gustin, no stranger to seeing the checkers flying first, won his fourth feature of the season at the track.  Chasing Gustin across the line to take second, was Jake Durbin.  Jon Snyder put his #69X in third, fourth went to Cale Sponsler and fifth to Bill Davis, Jr.

Wayne Gifford repeated his win from last week in the IMCA Stock Car class and his third win for the year.  He took a comfortable win over second place finisher, "Hot Rod" Richards.  Three veteran drivers, Steve Jackson, Robert Stofer and Larry Crocheck finished third, fourth and fifth. 

One feature for the IMCA Hobby Stocks closed out the evening's events.  Chris Hupp got to the lead early and stayed there to take the feature win.  Brandon Brinton finished in the runner up spot, third went to Dean Hartwig, fourth to Scott Lograsso and fifth was Matt McDonald. 

Next Saturday night, at the Boone Speedway will be another regular racing program with hot laps at 6:45 and racing at 7:30. Hope to see you there.   

Filed Under: FeaturedHeadlinesUncategorized

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.