Bushore Back in Victory Lane

August 21, 2010

Exciting racing action continued at the Boone Speedway on Saturday night with all five divisions in competition.  Four drivers came away with repeat wins on the season and two grabbed their first win.

After getting his first win last week after a long absence, Troy Hudson repeated by taking the checkers this week in the Dwarf/Mod Lites.  Hudson scooted to the front quickly while cars battled for position behind him.  Charlie Brown tailed him for most of the race, and would take second place.  Dusty Masolini came home in third, point leader Josh May finished fourth and fifth went to Randy Bryan.

Thirty-eight IMCA Northern SportMods required two B main events to whittle their starting field to twenty-four.  Winning those consolation races were Eric Elliott and Jeremy Embrey.  Clint Luellen took the lead from Daniel Tasler at lap eight  and would maintain that lead to the checkered flag.  Scott Davis added to his point lead with his second place finish.  Rick Ringgenberg came home in third place, fourth went to Randy Roberts and fifth went to Tim Wilcox from Ida Grove.  Tasler slipped back to finish in sixth.

The 20-lap IMCA Modified feature was won for the third time this year, by Joel Bushore.  Bushore avoided disaster late in the race when contact with a lap car nearly caused disaster.  He was able to regain control of his ride, and motored to the win.  Jimmy Gustin slipped by Randy Havlik with a lap to go, as they finished second and third.  Fourth went to Russ Dickerson and fifth was Jake Durbin.

The IMCA Stock Cars also ran a B main to complete their starting field of twenty-four cars. That  B main was won by Jay Schmidt. Point leader Donavon Smith was in charge by lap eight from his tenth starting position and he would take another win – his fifth on the year.  Robert Stofer bested Wayne Gifford as they finished second and third.  Fourth went to Jay Schmidt with a great run from qualifying through the B main, and fifth was Thomas Thompson from Hopkinton, Iowa.

The first of two IMCA Hobby Stock features had a new winner as John Watson saw the checkers flying first.  Austin Luellen led the early portion of the 12-lap event as he battled to stay ahead of Tony Cox and Watson.  Watson won the battle, to take his first win at the speedway this year.  Tony Cox hung on to finish second ahead of third place finisher Austin Luellen, Justin Maschke in fourth, and Jesse Hopkins in fifth.

Hobby Stock feature #2  also had a first time winner.  Veteran driver Donnie Gustoff won the final contest of the evening by passing Cory Tasler for the lead.  Tasler would finish in second place and another veteran driver, Randy Embrey would pick up third.  Fourth went to Cody Gustoff, and rounding out the top five was Matt Hudsputh.

The season is quickly winding down with just two more races on the regular season schedule.  Join us next week at the Boone Speedway for racing in all divisions and the last bus ride for 2010.

Filed Under: FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.