Snyder, Smith, Smith, and Watson nab Frostbuster wins

April 2, 2011

2011 Frostbuster Hobby Stock Action

IMCA Hobby Stocks make their way around the track during the 2011 Frostbuster at Boone Speedway.

The Boone Speedway got racing action underway for the first time in 2011 this past Saturday night with the running of their Frostbuster special.  Nearly 200 cars filled the pits as the IMCA modifieds, SportMods, Stock Cars, and Hobby Stocks competed.

Doug Smith bested the 46 cars signed in for the IMCA SportMods as he took that division’s feature win.  Clint Luellen  fought Smith hard for the lead but had to settle for second place.  Third went to Austin Lucas, fourth to Scott Davis and fifth to Wisconsin driver, Eric Mahlik

Seventy-five IMCA modifieds came to try their hand at taking home a win at the Boone track.  It took four B mains to whittle the starting A main to 24 cars.  The 25-lap feature event went to Jon Snyder as he topped second place finisher Jimmy Gustin.  Third was Todd Inman, fourth went to Ritchie Gustin and Jeremy Mills rounded out the top five.

The “Class Too Tough To Tame”, the IMCA stock cars, put on an entertaining 20-lap feature for the fans.  Ryan Rose led through lap eight but Donavon Smith had other ideas.  Smith overtook Rose for the lead and never looked back.  Donavon Smith took the Frostbuster win over Trent Murphy, third went to Wisconsin driver JJ Heinz, fourth was Norm Chesmore and Ryan Rose was fifth.

The IMCA hobby stock feature completed the program.  Several yellow flags would fly during this 20-lap event.  John Watson took the checkered flag and the win with Devin Smith taking a close second.  Third was Cody Nielsen, fourth Eric Stanton and fifth, Michael Murphy.

The Boone Speedway begins its regular points season next Saturday night, April 9th.  Make plans to join us for some exciting racing action.  Hot laps are 6:45 and racing begins at 7:30.

2011 Frostbuster Stock Car Winner

Donavon Smith topped the Frostbuster feature for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars at Boone Speedway. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

2011 Frostbuster SportMod Winner

Doug Smith was the winner of the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod Frostbuster feature at Boone. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

2011 Frostbuster Modified Winner

Jon Snyder was the $1,000 IMCA Modified winner at Boone Speedway’s season-opening Frostbuster. The victory put Snyder on the ballot for the 2011 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

2011 Frostbuster Hobby Stock Winner

Checkers flew for John Watson at the conclusion of Boone Speedway’s Frostbuster feature for IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

Click HERE for more photos from the 2011 Frostbuster.

Filed Under: FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.