Jimmy Gustin takes the checkers

April 30, 2011

There were five new winners on Saturday night at the Boone Speedway as each class brought a new face to victory lane for the 2011 season.   All five of those classes provided exciting entertainment throughout the entire night.

The Dwarf/Mod Lite’s began the night’s feature events as all 26 cars on hand started their A main.  Dusty Masolini led the contest through the halfway mark with James May in hot pursuit.  May would take over the top spot shortly there after and would then start stretching out his lead.  Meanwhile,  Colby Oberembt and Josh May made the pass around Masolini to gain positions as the laps wound down.  James May took the checkers followed by Oberembt in second, Josh May in third, Dusty Masolini was fourth and fifth went to Joel Huggins.  The race went caution free.

The IMCA Northern SportMods had a good field of 34 cars check through the gates.  In order to whittle their starting feature to 24 cars, a consolation feature was required.  Tim Love took that win.  The A feature found the #63 car of Jefferson, Iowa’s Daniel Tasler leaping to the lead.  He would never relinquish the top spot as he took the win.  Finishing a close second was Cody Hennings, Lynn Brockett took third, Scott Davis came from starting twelfth to capture a fourth place finish, and Eric Elliott finished fifth from his tenth place starting position.

The IMCA modified feature ended under a yellow/checkered situation when a car spun after the white flag had flown.  The 20-lap feature saw a great battle between Randy Havlik, Jimmy Gustin, Jake Durbin and Josh Gilman.  There was less than a handful of laps left when Gustin made the power move around the outside of Havlik to take the lead and the eventual win.  Havlik took the runner up spot, Durbin finished third, Josh Gilman was fourth and Russ Dickerson rounded out the top five.  Gustin was the point leader going into the evening and with the win, has added to that lead.

The IMCA stock cars were up next and with 29 cars checked in, they also required a B Main which was won by Jeff Harkrider.  The stock cars provided some exciting moments as they ran three and four wide during some of the early laps.  Josh Brauckman went to the front early and then kept that lead to finish first.  Michael Jaennette launched a late race challenge on the final lap, but came up short and had to settle for a second place finish.  Robert Stofer took the third spot, fourth went to Larry Crocheck and fifth to Trent Murphy.

With 32 hobby stocks on hand, they too ran a B main to finish out their starting grid of 24 cars for the feature.  The 911 car of Darin Rothfus took the checkers in that consolation contest.  Cory Adams led through lap eight of the 12-lap event with Austin Luellen knocking on his door.  Misfortune struck when Adams spun and was unable to restart his race car, sending him to the tail of the line on the restart.   Austin Luellen was the new leader and he would stretch out that lead by the time the checkers flew, giving him his first win of the season.  Aaron Rudolph finished in second, followed by Cory Tasler in third, Randy Embrey in fourth and Eric Stanton in fifth.

Make plans to attend next week as the racing continues with another weekly point’s event in all five divisions.  Hot laps are scheduled for 6:45 p.m. with racing at 7:30.

Click HERE for more photos from Saturday, April 30, 2011.

Jimmy Gustin in Victory Lane on Saturday, April 30, 2011.

Jimmy Gustin stands in the IMCA Modified Victory Lane on Saturday, April 30, 2011.

Filed Under: FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.