Molle, Modde and Murphy win at Boone

May 7, 2011

The fans at the Boone Speedway this past Saturday night not only enjoyed the exciting three and four wide racing but also appreciated the more pleasant weather conditions. They also saw four new winners for the 2011 season entered into the record books.

The Mod Lite feature was the only class to bring a repeat winner for 2011 when Charlie Brown crossed under the checkers first.  Brown quickly made his way to the front, stretched his lead, and won going away.  James May would finish in the second spot followed by Andy Hennigar in third, fourth went to Joel Keenan, and fifth to Mike Kennedy.  The 15-lap feature was run caution free.

Mike Molle took the checkers on Saturday, May 7, 2011, at Boone Speedway in the IMCa Modified division.

Mike Molle took the checkers on Saturday, May 7, 2011, at Boone Speedway in the IMCa Modified division.

All twenty-six IMCA Northern SportMods started their A main.  Brian Miller claimed the top spot through lap thirteen of the 18-lap event but an unfortunate spin on a restart ended his quest for a win.  Geoff Olson was the brief leader then, only to have Josh Modde snatch it away and take the win.  Olson took the runner up spot, third went to Shawn Hunter, fourth to point leader Scott Davis, and fifth to last week’s winner, Daniel Tasler.

The modified feature was dominated by a new winner, Mike Molle, as he led the 20-lap race start to finish.  Joel Bushore and Russ Dickerson finished a close second and third respectively. Robert Avery finished in fourth place and rounding out the top five was point leader, Jimmy Gustin.

The IMCA stock cars had to run a B main to whittle the starting feature to 24 cars.  That consolation race was won by Donavon Smith.  Andy Bryant and Trent Murphy battled for the lead early on with Murphy eventually taking over and then pulled away.  The battle behind him was intense as brother’s Jerry and Wayne Gifford contested each other for  second and third after getting around Bryant.  Murphy took the 18-lap feature win and Wayne Gifford finished second with Jerry Gifford a close third.  Fourth went to Andy Bryant and Michael Jaennette was fifth.

The final event, the IMCA hobby stocks  also needed a B main to complete their 24-car starting grid.   Darin Rothfus was that winner.  John Watson pulled away for the feature win finishing well ahead of second place Cory Adams.  A distant third was Randy Embrey, fourth went to Matt McDonald and fifth to Eric Stanton.  Watson was the Frostbuster winner but this was his first regular season win.

Next week at the Boone Speedway is another regular points night for all divisions.  Make plans to come and enjoy some great racing action.

Click HERE for more photos from Saturday, May 7, 2011.

Filed Under: FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.