Deery Series headlines Memorial Day special at Boone

Deery Brothers IMCA Boone Flyer

BOONE, Iowa (May 23) – The fifth installment of the silver anniversary Deery Brothers Summer Series headlines the traditional Memorial Day special at Boone Speedway.

Touring IMCA Late Models race for $2,000 to win and a minimum of $250 to start, and will be joined by IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, as well as dwarf cars, on the Monday, May 30 program.

Pit gates open at 2 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 3 p.m. Hot laps are at 4 p.m. and racing starts at 5 p.m. Grandstand admission is $15 for adults and $5 for kids. Pit passes are $25.

Three other drivers have won consecutive series features at Boone but defending tour champion Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill., became the first to win three straight by topping last September’s opening night event during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Cenex.

Gary Webb of Blue Grass leads all drivers with four career Deery wins at Boone, all of them during Super Nationals. Guss and Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls have each won three times.

Two-time winners include Todd Cooney of Des Moines, Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown, Curt Martin of Independence, Terry Neal of Ely, Kevin Pittman of Waterloo, Gary Russell of Biggsville, Ill., and Mike Smith of Jewell.

Stocks, Hobbies and Northern SportMods will race for all applicable IMCA points. More information about the Boone Deery show is available from promoter Robert Lawton at 515 987-1220 or 515 432-1795.

While consistent finishes have Tyler Bruening of Decorah and Morning Sun’s Tom Darbyshire tied for the point lead, the first four Deery events of the season have produced as many different winners: Brian Harris and Matt Ryan, both of Davenport, Matt Bailey of Quincy, Ill., and Andy Eckrich of Iowa City.

Click HERE for current Deery Brother Summer Series point standings.

Filed Under: Headlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.