Saturday Updates

Modified driver Dillon Smith of Hillsboro, Texas, and Stock Car driver Stefan Sybesma of Sanborn won Woody’s Hot Shot best looking car awards in their respective divisions.

Both will receive prize packages from contest sponsor Woody’s Signs and are now entered in the season-long contest for monthly and Super Nationals Hot Shot winners.


The high card went to Jay Matthias of DePere, Wis., in the draw to determine the inside front front row start in the Harris Auto Racing Modified race of Champions.

2005 RoC winner Kevin Stoa of Albert Lea, Minn., is on the outside of row one.

Row two sports Cory Wray of Jamesport, Mo., and Troy Gemmill of Ponca City, Okla. Hometown hotshoe Russ Dickerson and 2007 RoC winner Jimmy Gustin make up the third row.

Jonathan Snyder of Ames and Mike Jergens of Plover are in the fourth row. Ricky Stephan of South Sioux City, Neb., and main event pole starter Richie Gustin of Gilman start from row five.

Row six has Corey Lagroon of Salina, Kan., and Todd Shute of Des Moines.


Kevin Opheim of Mason City also drew an ace and will start on the pole for Saturday’s Sunoco Race Fuels Stock Car Race of Champions.

Opheim won the RoC in 2008. Starting to his right on the front row will be Damon Murty of Clelsea.

In row two are brothers Donavon and David Smith of Lake City. David was the Sunoco winner in 2005 and 2007.

2001 winner Jeremy Christians of Horicon, Wis., and 2003 winner Ryan Rose of Boone are in row three.

Appleton, Wis.’ Brandon Czarapata and 2004 winner Mike Nichols make up the fourth row.

Starting in the fifth row will be Jeff Mueller of New London and Chad Palmer of Renwick.


Numbers you need to know from the 29th annual IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Cenex: Six days of racing will see a record 843 cars compete. By the time the final checkered flag flies late Saturday, 3,217 laps will have been run in a total of 350 heats, qualifying features, “B” features, last-chance features and main events.

Filed Under: Saturday, September 10, 2011Super Nationals - 2011

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.