Track Champions for 2011

September 13,2011

The final race of the regular season at the Boone Speedway scheduled on September 3, 2011, did not happen.  Mother Nature decided to drop more liquid sunshine on the track than racing would allow, and the show was cancelled.  This was the first rainout for the speedway since April 25, 2009.

The Mod Lite championship went to Josh May who repeated from his 2010 crown.  May had four feature wins on the season. 

The IMCA Hobby Stock track champion was Michael Murphy, who also took the championship for the second year in a row.  Murphy captured nine feature wins at the track.

The IMCA Northern SportMod also saw a driver repeat from last year.  Scott Davis put his name in the books again this year as track champion.  Davis won twice during the year.  

The Class too Tough to Tame, the IMCA Stock Cars, put on some great action for the fans this year.  Lake City driver, Donavon Smith took home all the marbles again, repeating from last year.  Smith won two features during the regular season.

The closest points contest was in the IMCA Modified division.  Russ Dickerson took the championship with 721 points over Jimmy Gustin with 719.  Two other drivers, Cale Sponsler ended his season with 713 points and last year’s track champion, Jake Durbin had 710.  Dickerson made consistent finishes pay off and won the championship without one feature win.

Congratulations to all the track champions for a job well done.  The Boone Speedway will resume it’s regular season again next April.  See you then!

Filed Under: Headlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.