Murphy is Deery Brothers winner at Boone


Michael Murphy, Jr., Colona, Illinos took home the win in the annual Memorial Day IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series Late Model race  at the Boone Speedway.  Murphy, who led the entire 40-lap feature,

Michael Murphy Jr led from start to finish in the Memorial Day running of the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models at Boone Speedway on Monday, May 28, 2012.

extended his lead as the series point leader.   Tyler Bruening chased Murphy through the contest, taking the runner up position. Veteran Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, finished in third, Ray Guss, Jr., Milan, Illinois came from starting fourteenth, to take fourth, and Luke Goedert, Guttenberg, Iowa, was fifth.  The only caution came on lap 38. It would take two attempts before those final two laps would be completed; Murphy never wavering in his lead.

The Mod Lites as one of three other support classes on the docket,  ran a 15-lap feature for the Memorial Day special.  Josh May had little trouble in capturing the win in this one, leading the entire caution free race. Ed Zehm, last Saturday night’s winner was second.  Joel Keenan finished in third, Randy Bryan was fourth and Jason Whitehead, fifth.

The IMCA Hobby Stocks ran a 15-lap main. Andy Mahlstedt led the first handful of laps before John Watson passed him for the lead.  Watson then sailed home to another easy victory; one of six in all at the track this year.  Tyler Pickett scored a third place finish, Dustin Filloon was fourth and Robert Smith, fifth.

The IMCA Northern SportMods went 20-laps in their feature event. Darren Huntley led past the halfway mark. Behind him, Scott Davis and Daniel Tasler were fighting for position. Tasler won the battle for second and then made the pass outside to take over the lead from Huntley. With just a lap remaining, Huntley would suddenly pull into the infield, giving second to Davis.  Tasler took the win, Davis was second, Eric Elliott a close third.  Casey Greubel made the trip up from Lacona,Iowa to finish fourth and Joel Rust rounded out the top five.

The IMCA Stock Cars finished the program with their 20-lapper. Michael Murphy–this one being from Jefferson, Iowa– got to the lead by lap five, and motored home to the win.  This would be Murphy’s first win scored in the IMCA Stock Car class at Boone after jumping up a class from the IMCA Hobby Stocks in 2012.  Michael Jaennette came from starting in row four to take the runner up spot.  Third went to Jamesport, Missouri driver, Dean Wray, David Smith, Lake City, Iowa was fourth and veteran Robert Stofer claimed fifth.

Boone Speedway will be back in action this Saturday night, June 2,  with another regular night of racing.  It is “School’s Out” night and there will be free admission for ages 17 and under.  Hot laps are 6:45, and racing at 7:30.

Click HERE for photos from Memorial Day 2012.

Click HERE for complete results from Monday, May 28, 2012.

Filed Under: FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.