Simatovich earns modified victory

July 21, 2012 Modified Winner Scott Simatovich

July 21, 2012

Drivers and fans were both ready for some racing on Saturday night at the Boone Speedway. A nice crowd filled the stands and 153 race cars packed the pits. Five new drivers went to victory lane and for the first time this season, two Hobby Stock features were run.

The only repeat winner came from the Mod Lite division. Bryan Zehm grabbed the lead by lap two, keeping it to the checkers. Josh May came from row five to pester the leader but could do no better than second.  Mike Kennedy, Jeff Stensland and David Schmalzried, Jr. finished third, fourth and fifth.

A B main was needed to complete the starting field of IMCA SportMods. New driver Jon Plowman took that win. In the feature,  Matt Pinegar led the opening laps until Brian Miller took it away by lap ten. A caution at lap fifteen and subsequent restart did not bother Miller as he pulled away in the closing laps. Pinegar held on to second, Joe McBirnie took third ahead of Shawn Hunter in fourth and Eric Elliot in fifth.

Scott Simatovich, State Center driver scored his first victory of the season in the Modified class. Simatovich passed Adam Larson by lap three but Larson wasn’t done and Jake Durbin then joined in as the three fought for position. Simatovich was able to gain some breathing room as the race wound down, those behind him still battling it out. Larson chased Simatovich to the finish line in second, Jon Snyder made it into third place and Russ Dickerson trailed in fourth; Jake Durbin taking fifth.

Earlier, a King of the Hill contest for the Modifieds was held, pitting the top two finishers of the heat races.  Round one, Jon Snyder eliminated Kelly Lyons, Jimmy Gustin bested Mike VanGenderen, and Todd Shute beat Denny Pittman.  In round two, Gustin beat out Shute.  The final round was Snyder—who had a bye—against Gustin.  Snyder took the win.

The IMCA Stock Cars put on a show for the fans. Jerry Gifford, Rod Richards and Ryan Rose came across the finish line three abreast at lap one! A few laps later Jay Schmidt joined in to grab second place and Wayne Gifford was flying around the top side in third. Close behind, Robert Stofer and Trent Murphy were putting up a fight for fourth and fifth.  The final few laps saw Gifford take a comfortable lead as he headed for the checkers, taking the win, his first of the 2012 season.  Jay Schmidt fought hard to finish in the runner up spot, Trent Murphy was third just holding off Donavon Smith who had come from starting in row six to finish fourth and Wayne Gifford rounded out the top five.

A total of forty-one Hobby Stocks checked into the pits and for the first time this year, two A main features were on tap. The first 12-lap feature was pretty well decided from the get go as pole starter Danny Watson gained the advantage and would lead the entire distance, taking a comfortable win.  Trailing a distance in second place was brother John Watson after making his way up from starting back in tenth spot.  Dustin Filloon, Tim Barber and Bill Atcheson rounded out the top five.

In the second Hobby Stock main, Ryan Grochala held off Scott Pippert for the lead until lap eight.  Pippert, who came from row five, took the win by a comfortable margin, Grochala holding on to second.  Curt Reed, Matt McDonald and Tyler Pickett finished third through fifth, all coming from mid-pack.

Next week will be another night of regular season point racing in all five classes along with a Hula Hoop contest for all ages.  Hot laps are 6:45, racing at 7:30.

Filed Under: FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.