Gustin to the checkers first at Boone

Jimmy Gustin claimed his third IMCA Modified Win of 2012 Saturday, August 11.

August 11, 2012

The count down to Super Nationals brought 186 cars to Boone Speedway on Saturday night. There was fast and furious racing all night long, winners sometimes being decided as the cars came out of turn four. Only one of two hobby features saw a new winner; all other features saw drivers repeat.

The Mod Lite feature went to Bryan Zehm who out distanced Josh May to snag his third win of the year. Try as he may, May could not make the pass on Zehm, and had to settle for second. Jason Whitehead finished in third ahead of Andy Hennigar in fourth and Mike Kennedy in fifth.

Forty-nine IMCA SportMods required three B mains to whittle their starting A feature to twenty-four cars. Randy Roberts, Jason Mallicoat and visiting driver from Ida Grove, Tim Wilcox won those consolation races. The feature found Chad Ryerson and Cole Ferguson do battle for the top spot through much of the 18-lap race.  In the waning laps, Scott Davis took over second and then was able to make the pass on leader Ferguson, and make it to the checkers first. Third went to Ryerson, Racer Hulin came from starting eleventh to take fourth, and Nick Roberts was fifth.

Thirty-one IMCA modifieds required a B main to get their starting field to twenty-four cars. Kyle Krampe won it.  Joel Bushore took the lead before the halfway mark of the 20-lapper, but the car hot on his tail was Jimmy Gustin—coming from tenth to the runner up spot, and wanting more. Gustin accomplished just that, took the lead and stretched it out at the finish. The fight for position behind him was intense, but in the end it was the driver from Hinton, Iowa, Jay Noteboom taking second, just ahead of Jon Snyder in third. Bushore hung on to take fourth, and Kelly Lyons was fifth.  Gustin won for the third time at Boone this season.

Earlier, the top two finishers in the modified heats ran a King of the Hill race sponsored by Harris Auto Racing.  Two rounds eliminated all but the final two drivers.  Those two remaining were Jon Snyder and rookie to the division, Kyle Brown from Kellogg, Iowa.  The rookie Brown took the win.

The Class too Tough to Tame, the IMCA Stock Cars ran their 18-lap event next after two B mains were required for their 24-car starting field. Those were won by Jason VanSickle and Nathan Wood, both making their first appearance at the track. In the feature, Donavon Smith had made his way around Cory Bushnell by lap four to take the lead.  Smith, who had started eleventh, then pulled away from the field in the final laps, taking the easy win, his second of the regular season, plus having also won the pre-season Frostbuster.  Josh Daniels took the runner up spot, Jared Dirks from Rowan, Iowa, Alan VanGorp, and Cory Bushnell finished third through fifth in that order in a tight pack.

With forty-five IMCA Hobby Stocks, two feature events were run.  Feature number one saw a driver repeat his win from last week when Aaron Rudolph took the checkers.  Rudolph inherited the lead when leader Tony Cox blew his motor, spewing oil all over the track with but a handful of laps in the book.  Scott Lograsso chased Rudolph in the final laps, almost making it an interesting finish when a lap car played into it as they came to the checkers.  However, there was no change in positions, Lograsso settling for second. Third was visitor Josh Peters from Dickens, Iowa, fourth was Garrett Eilander and fifth was Matt McDonald.

The night was polished off with the second feature for the IMCA Hobby Stocks.  This one came right down to the wire between Webster City driver Craig Graham and David Rieks from Eldora.  The two battled closely in the final two laps, Rieks gaining the advantage briefly with one lap to go, only to lose it coming to the checkers out of turn four.  Graham nabbed his first win at Boone, Rieks taking second.  Third went to Curt Reed, Noah Ludwig from Logan, Iowa was fourth and Matt Hudspeth was fifth.

Three weeks of regular season racing remains.  Hot laps are 6:45 and racing at 7:30.

Filed Under: FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.