Season Championship night crowns five track champions

September 1, 2012

The Boone Speedway closed out its regular season racing on Saturday night, crowning track champions in all five divisions.  The top twenty in points were locked in to start the features. Those drivers on hand that had raced at least once, but were outside of the top twenty, could run a B main to qualify for the A main in their class.

Driver introductions were made on the front stretch for each class. The first up for feature racing was the Mod Lites. They ran an 18-lap main event, all of them led by winner Mike Kennedy. Josh May, who was crowned the track champion, fought past Bryan Zehm late in the race, as they finished second and third. Fourth went to Joel Keenan and fifth was Jeff Stensland.

Hobby Stocks ran an extended 15 laps for season championship night.  The winner, who was also the track champion, was John Watson. Watson led the race flag to flag on his way to his twelfth victory of the season. Aaron Rudolph finished in the runner up spot, just ahead of third place Curt Reed. Fourth and fifth went to Tyler Pickett and Dustin Lynch.

It was a 20-lapper for the IMCA Northern SportMods. Earlier, a B main was run to complete the feature starting line up. Taylor Musselman took that win. Scott Davis took the victory in the A main as he out lasted Nick Roberts, the runner up. Tim Love finished third, fourth went to Randy Roberts and Cory Rose came from well back in the starting field, to grab fifth place.  Scott Davis is the track champion for 2012.

A B main for the Stock Cars was the only other consolation race run, with Josh Daniels taking the win.  The feature went 20-laps. Point leader Donavon Smith led the first handful of laps until Trent Murphy took over the lead.  Murphy would then eventually stretch out his lead, taking the comfortable win.  A good distance behind him in second place was veteran Robert Stofer, third was Michael Murphy, and Cory Bushnell was fourth. Fifth went to track champion, Donavon Smith who recovered from an incident earlier on the track that cost him several positions.

The IMCA Modifieds closed out the season with a 25-lap event. Jimmy Gustin jumped to the immediate lead but before ten laps were in the books, Todd Shute flew around Gustin on the topside, taking the point position away.  Gustin had to be content to chase Shute the rest of the way to the checkers.  Shute took the win, Gustin, the track champion was second.  Third went to Mike VanGenderen and fourth was Russ Dickerson.  The two were tied for second place in track points going into the night, ending with VanGenderen taking the runner up points.  Kelly Lyons rounded out the top five.

The 30th Annual Speedway Motors IMCA Super Nationals starts this Monday, September 3 and runs through September 8,  and the pits are already filling fast.  A record 709 pre-entries have been received.  Don’t miss America’s Racin’ Vacation!

Filed Under: Headlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.