Ellithorpe goes from Super Nationals spectator to Sport Compact champion

BOONE, Iowa  (Sept. 4) – Jacob Ellithorpe came to watch when the Mach-1 Sport Compact division joined the IMCASpeedway Motors Super Nationals program of events last September.

He came to Boone Speedway to win when the 4-cylinder class returned for its second Super Nationals appearance on Tuesday night.

Ellithorpe worked his way up from 15th in the initial grid and capitalized on a restart with five circuits left, staying in front to the finish of the fast-paced 25-lapper.

Brad Chandler led much of the way and ended in second. Mick Rykhus also took his turn at the head of the pack before crossing the stripe third.

Rounding out the top five were Tyler Whalen and Cameron Meyer. Fifty-five Sport Compacts competed, six more than during the division debut in 2011.

“After starting 15th, I was thinking that finishing anywhere in the top five would be pretty good,” said Ellithorpe, who earned $250 plus a $60 IMCA Weekly Racing Bonus for the victory. “I never thought I would be able to run the bottom of the track like that.”

While defending champion Nathan Chandler exited early for the infield, Brad Chandler needed only a single circuit to race from eighth starting into the lead. Mitch Bolton and Meyer chased him much of the night.

The pack got stacked up when Chandler missed a gear on a restart with six to go. Rykhus and the 24th starting Whalen got by before another quick yellow came out.

The next restart was Ellithorpe’s time to shine as he made what proved to be the winning move all the way from inside row three. Chandler caught Whalen for second but couldn’t make up the rest of the distance.

Ellithorpe took he checkers some five car lengths ahead of Chandler.

“The Chandlers are top of the line around this part of Iowa,” noted Ellithorpe. “It’s always an accomplishment when you can beat them.”

Seventeen of the 30 drivers in the main event field came from out-of-state.

Feature results – 1. Jacob Ellithorpe, Delmar; 2. Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 3. Mick Rykhus, Eagle Lake, Minn.; 4. Tyler Whalen, Riverside; 5. Cameron Meyer, Pierce, Neb.; 6. Mitch Bolton, Grand Junction, Colo.; 7. Merv Chandler, Vinton; 8. Mike Nehring, Ankeny; 9. Cody Thompson, Sioux City; 10. Amanda Rhiley, Bennington, Neb.; 11. Nate Coopman, Mankato, Minn.; 12. Nick Lindblad, Beatrice, Neb.; 13. Tyler Thompson, Sioux City; 14. Justice Colson, Grand Island, Neb.; 15. Richard Eacret, Nebraska City, Neb.; 16. Jarret Beach, Tonganoxie, Kan.; 17. Gabe Barclay, Hubbard, Neb.; 18. Caine Mahlberg, Dunlap; 19. Duayne Herb, Cedar Rapids; 20. Aaron Betz, Avoca, Minn.; 21. Sydney Yost, Nebraska City, Neb.; 22. Megan Lappegard, Spencer; 23. Robby Severson, Lake Crystal, Minn.; 24. Wade Heller, Manhattan, Kan.; 25. Stephanie Forsberg, Slayton, Minn.; 26. Scott Spellmeier, Marysville, Kan.; 27. Deb Braasch, Ute; 28. Nathan Chandler, Norway; 29. Billy Stanford, Wapello; 30. Dallas Dunn, Salina, Kan.

1st heat – 1. Lindblad; 2. Nehring; 3. Cody Thompson; 4. Rykhus; 5. Luke Jackson, Sioux City; 6. Dunn; 7. John Gill, Marshalltown; 8. Austin Becerra, Carthage, Ill.; 9. Jordan Andrey, Dunlap; 10. Leroy Wagner, Bonner Spring, Kan.

2nd heat – 1. Eacret; 2. Herb; 3. Braasch; 4. Colson; 5. Tony Kerger, Woodbine; 6. Mitchell Bielenberg, Charlotte; 7. Jacob McVay, Palo; 8. John Whalen, Ainsworth; 9. Nathan Chandler.

3rd heat – 1. Bolton; 2. Brad Chandler; 3. Ellithorpe; 4. Rhiley; 5. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 6. Ryan Boland, Fort Dodge; 7. Scott Porter, Madison Lake, Minn.; 8. Terry Kolsrud, Waukon; 9. Tyler Whalen.

4th heat – 1. Forsberg; 2. Severson; 3. Yost; 4. Tyler Thompson; 5. Jason Bolte, Odin, Minn.; 6. Kimberly Abbott, Camp Point, Ill.; 7. Coopman; 8. Chuck Fullenkamp, Fort Madison; 9. Jer Pedersen, Dana.

5th heat – 1. Spellmeier; 2. Betz; 3. Merv Chandler; 4. Lappegard; 5. Stanford; 6. Mark Lindgren, Aurelia; 7. Joe Bunkofske, Armstrong; 8. Lisa Rolfes, Merrill; 9. Kody Bass, Morning Sun.

6th heat – 1. Heller; 2. Meyer; 3. Mahlberg; 4. Beach; 5. Barclay; 6. Tim Doocy, Swea City; 7. William Michel, Farmington; 8. Jeremy Baker, Nebraska City, Neb.; 9. Zachary Malchow, Hutchinson, Minn

1st “B” feature – 1. Rykhus; 2. Coopman; 3. Tyler Thompson; 4. Dunn; 5. Gill; 6. Bolte; 7. Fullenkamp; 8. Jackson; 9. Abbott; 10. Pedersen; 11. Becerra; 12. Andrey; 13. Wagner.

2nd “B” feature – 1. Lappegard; 2. Nathan Chandler; 3. Stanford; 4. Colson; 5. Lindgren; 6. Bass; 7. John Whalen; 8. McVay; 9. Kerger; 10. Bunkofske; 11. Rolfes; 12. Bielenberg.

3rd “B” feature – 1. Rhiley; 2. Tyler Whalen; 3. Barclay; 4. Beach; 5. Bailey; 6. Michel; 7. Boland; 8. Baker; 9. Doocy; 10. Malchow; 11. Porter; 12. Kolsrud, Waukon.

Filed Under: HeadlinesSuper Nationals - 2012Tuesday, September 4, 2012

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.