Lyons, Murphy, Bushnell and Pickett score first wins at Boone

July 20, 2013

It was Christmas in July at the Boone Speedway on Saturday night.  The kids got to visit with Santa, there were presents, Christmas trees and decorations and Christmas music filled the air.  Four drivers were also gifted with getting their first wins of the 2013 season at the speedway.

The IMCA Hobby Stocks raced their feature first.  Shaun Wirtz immediately took the lead from his outside pole starting spot and Matt Hudspeth tucked in behind him in second.  Tyler Pickett made his way into third place at the halfway mark of the race.  A few laps later,

Tyler Pickett

IMCA Hobby Stock driver Tyler Pickett captured his first win of the season at Boone Speedway on Saturday, July 20, 2013.

Pickett had gotten to second, and Shannon Anderson, who had started tenth, was up to third and ready to challenge for more.   Pickett was able to get around leader Wirtz in the closing laps and Anderson came along to take over second.  Anderson did everything to get around Pickett but it wasn’t to be as Pickett took the checkers, his first of the 2013 season.  Anderson had to be content with second place, third was Shaun Wirtz, last week’s winner Eric Stanton finished fourth and Matt Hudspeth kept his ride toward the front of the field to finish in fifth.

The only driver to repeat a win at the track this year, came in the Mod Lite division.  There were only five laps in the books of the 15-lap feature when Josh May took over the helm from Terry Brown.  May, who started twelve,  had no trouble in going the rest of the distance in securing the win, his second of the year.  Brown took the runner up position, third was Travis Stensland. Bryan Zehm came from starting along side the winner in row six to capture fourth place, and the winner’s father, Jimmy May was fifth.

There was a scary start to the 18-lap IMCA Northern SportMod feature.  The cars had not completed a lap when Cody Hennings was involved in an incident between turns three and four that sent him rolling several times.  He was okay.  When the racing did get underway, pole sitter Michael Murphy, who has just recently transitioned over from Stock Car to the SportMod Class, was the leader of the pack.  Murphy would continue to lead the entire race to the checkers, making it his first win at Boone in the division.  Daniel Tasler chased Murphy most of the distance, taking second place.  Paul Nagle came from fourteenth starting position to snag a third place finish,  fourth was veteran racer Rick Ringgenberg and Cory Rose came from tenth to finish fifth.

The 18-lap IMCA Stock Car feature was basically a two car race for the lead for much of the race.  Cory Bushnell and Jay Schmidt ran lap after lap nearly glued together.  Schmidt looked low and then high for a way around Bushnell but was only able to pull it off briefly at one point, only to have Bushnell regain the point position.  Then who was suddenly in the picture, but the familiar #35 of Donavon Smith!  Smith, who had suffered damage in the heat race, had started at the rear of the field and gotten to third by lap twelve.  He watched as Bushnell and Schmidt went at it in front of him and sized up his options.  In the closing laps, Smith got by Schmidt but that would be the end of his charge as Bushnell took the win, Smith was second, Schmidt fought a hard battle to garner third.  Fourth place finisher was Toby Smith and Trent Murphy came from well back in the starting field to finish fifth. This was Bushnell’s first win since August of 2012.

Kelly Lyons won the 20-lap Modified feature, snagging his first win at Boone this year.  Lyons had little trouble in leading this one from start to finish.  North Carolina driver, Kyle Strickler chased Lyons the entire 20 laps but could only watch from a distance in taking the runner up spot.  Jimmy Gustin started twelfth and finished third, making a last lap pass on Jake Durbin who was fourth.  Russ Dickerson completed the top five.

Next Saturday, July 27 will be another regular night of racing in all five divisions.  Hot laps are 6:45 with racing at 7:30.

Click HERE for photos from Saturday, July 20, 2013.

Filed Under: FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.