Logue, Kates, Gifford, Watson and Brown go to victory lane

May 10, 2014

The ominous looking clouds parted at the Boone Speedway on Saturday night, not a drop of rain fell, and the racing action was top notch.  Three drivers repeated wins on the 2014 season, while there was a new winner in the Hobby Stock and Mod Lite divisions.  There was even a winner crowned in the Diva Dash as several drivers ran a footrace in high heels.  Mothers were also honored on this Mother’s Day weekend and presented with a carnation upon arrival into the grandstands.

The Mod Lite feature went to Terry Brown.  Brown led from the opening lap, his brother Charlie Brown chasing him relentlessly.  At lap thirteen of the fifteen lapper, Charlie Brown was off power, unable to exit the track on his own, and bringing out a yellow.  On the restart,  Jimmy May took over second, Andy Hennigar, Travis Stensland and Josh May waiting in the wings.  The green-white-checkered finish was a dandy, the top runners going 4-wide on the final lap.  Terry Brown was able to hold the advantage, grabbing his first win of the season.  Jimmy May took the runner up spot and Andy Hennigar held on to third.  Josh May and Travis Stensland rounded out the top five.

The IMCA Northern SportMod feature saw Lynn Brockett lead the opening laps of the race, but it didn’t take long for Ben Kates to get to his rear bumper.  Kates, who had started tenth, overtook Brockett at lap four and flew to the lead.  Kates stretched out his lead the rest of the way to checkers and the win.  Brockett held on to second,  outlasting hard charging Doug Smith in third.  Fourth went to Brandon Williams and late arrival at the track, Carter VanDenBerg, tagged the field of the feature, and finished fifth.  This was Kates second win of the regular season, also having won the Frostbuster special back on April 12th.

The 20-lap IMCA Modified feature had lots of action.  Joel Bushore led the first couple of laps, chased by David Brown.  Bushore had to retire to the pits at lap three,  Brown then taking over the top spot.  John Logue was running in second with a lot of company behind him in Jon Snyder and Mike VanGenderen.  Logue made the pass for the lead just before a yellow caution flag flew with three laps remaining.  This set up a shoot out to the finish on the restart that proved to be just that.  Logue was able to hold his lead and scored the victory but a lot of action went on behind him.  Jon Snyder snatched second, and Jimmy Gustin, who started twelfth, came from sixth on the restart to take third at the finish line.  David Brown ran up front all night and finished fourth, as did Mike VanGenderen in fifth.

The Stock Cars put on their usual exciting race, right down to the finish line.  Mike Goldsberry led the early laps with Josh Daniels tailing him.   Daniels then took the lead and was holding it at the mid-point of the race, now with Jerry Gifford moving to second.  Meanwhile, Jay Schmidt, who had started fourteenth, was flying on the topside, chasing down the leaders.  The final laps of the race had the fans on their feet! Gifford got to the lead, Schmidt following into second.  The final dash to the checkers saw Gifford out run Schmidt for the win by inches.  Gifford, who started twelfth, scored his second win of the season, Schmidt having to settle for the runner up spot.  Josh Daniels held on to take third over Mike Goldsberry in fourth and Donavon Smith took fifth.

The night ended with the 12-lap Hobby Stock feature.  A familiar face was back in victory circle as John Watson took the checkers.  Watson had to work his way up through the pack from starting tenth in doing so.   He caught and passed Michael Leffler with a lap remaining to secure his win.  Shannon Anderson also got around Leffler on that final circuit to the checkers as they finished second and third respectively. Fourth was Eric Stanton and early leader Ross Marshall finished fifth.  Watson is back in a Hobby Stock, after a stint in the Stock Car division last year.

Racing continues next Saturday night, May 17 with racing in all five classes.  Hot laps are 6:45 and racing at 7:30.

Filed Under: 2014FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.