Havlik and Bryan score first 2014 wins

June 21, 2014

The sun was shining, the winds were calm and it was a beautiful Saturday night for racing at the Boone Speedway.  There were 117 cars checked in the pits in the five divisions, with new winners in both the Modified and Mod Lite classes.

Cory Sauerman led the Mod Lite feature through the first half of the 15-lap event, but had his night end badly, when he bounced off of the backstretch wall and rolled.  Sauerman was okay, but his night was done.  Randy Bryan picked

Randy Bryan

Randy Bryan picked up his first Mod Lite win of the season at Boone Speedway on Saturday, June 21, 2014.

up the lead shortly thereafter, and kept it to the checkers.  Byran Zehm slipped around James May in the closing laps, as they were scored second and third respectively.  Mike Kennedy was fourth and Travis Brandt finished fifth.  This was Bryan’s first win at Boone in the 2014 season.

Randy Roberts nabbed his second feature win of the year in the IMCA Northern SportMod A main.  Roberts got to the front by lap five, and withstood numerous cautions on his way to the checkers.  Johnathon Logue crossed in second, but was later disqualified due to a body parts issue, handing second over to point leader, Ben Kates.  Third went to Cory Rose, Rick Ringgenberg started back in row eleven, and finished fourth, and Chad Ryerson from Wellsburg, Iowa, rounded out the top five.

Tyson Overton lead the opening laps of the 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature.  By lap four, Eric Stanton was knocking on his door, and took over the lead at lap seven.  Stanton had little trouble on maintaining that lead, and sailed home to the win.  Eldora, Iowa’s David Rieks started along side the winner, and took the runner up spot.  Shannon Anderson started in row six, and finished third, Overton hung toward the front of the field and was scored fourth, and Dustin Graham was fifth.  Stanton picked up his second win of the season.

The Modified feature went to Randy Havlik, who lead all 20-laps in taking his first win at Boone this year.  Eric Elliott, last week’s winner, chased Havlik most of the race, but had to settle for second place.  Jon Snyder worked his way through the field from starting in row ten, and finished third.  Scott Davis was fourth, and Chris Webb completed the top five.  Havlik is the tenth different feature winner at the Boone Speedway this season.

The evening ended with the running of the 18-lap IMCA Stock Car feature.  Corey Piffer, Independence, Iowa, took the lead at the drop of the green flag.  Piffer held the point position through lap six, when a yellow flew.  Jerry Gifford had made great headway by running the outside, and worked his way to the number two position as the race restarted.  It didn’t take long for Gifford to make the move into the lead, and was in command at lap seven.  Three more yellows flew before the race was complete, but Gifford stayed in charge, and scored the win.  Jay Schmidt, the point leader, started back in row six, had an impressive run, taking second place over Lonnie Hodges in third.  Corey Bushnell was fourth and Donavon Smith finished fifth.  Jerry Gifford won for the third time this year.

Racing continues next Saturday night, June 28, with racing in all five classes.  Hot laps are 6:45 and racing at 7:30.

Filed Under: 2014FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.