Woods, Stofer, Murphy, Rieks and Brown win at Boone

July 26, 2014

The Boone Speedway offered up some fantastic racing Saturday night.  Three new drivers went to Victory Lane while two others got repeat wins.  A big crowd watched the 130 race cars on a hot, muggy, July night.

The Mod Lite 15-lap event saw Charlie Brown back in the winner’s circle for the fifth time this year.  Brown, who had started ninth,  had to chase down Dusty Masolini in the process.  Brown was able to slip underneath Masolini by lap twelve, taking over the top spot.  Brown kept his lead the rest of the way to the checkers, and scored another win.  Masolini held on to the runner up spot.  Third went to Joel Keenan and Josh May, who had started 20th, finished a close fourth, and early leader Cory Dennis was fifth.

The SportMod division had to run a B main to complete their starting 24 cars.  Ben Kates was the winner of that consolation race.  Michael Murphy, who made his first appearance of the year last week at Boone, led the troops at the drop of the green.  Murphy pulled away, even after two cautions and the subsequent restarts, leading all laps for his first win of the year.  Norwalk’s Anthony Onstot trailed Murphy most of the race, and finished second.  Johnathon Logue, last week’s winner, started eleventh, and finished third, fourth went to Tara Longnecker and point leader Ben Kates, who had to qualify through a B main, started 22nd, and finished fifth.

It was David Rieks taking the checkers this week in the 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature.  Rieks, who saw his night end on a sour note last week with a damaged car while fighting for the win, was victorious this week.  Rieks chased down Matt McDonald for the lead at lap eight and from there on was happy as captain of the ship while the battle going on behind him heated up.  Rieks took the checkers, and stamped his name in the books as a first time winner in 2014.  Tyler Pickett, who started ninth, moved passed Josh Saunders in the final lap as they finished second and third in that order.  Cody Gustoff was fourth and John Watson, the point leader, worked his way from starting twelfth into a top five finishing position.

The Modifieds ran their usual 20-lap feature.  Kent Croskey led the opening handful of laps, but Shay Woods was snapping at his heels.  At lap six, Woods got around Croskey for the lead, and shortly after that, it was Mike VanGenderen over taking Croskey for second.  Woods and VanGenderen were putting on quite a show up front and

Shay Woods

IMCA Modified driver Shay Woods secured his first win of the 2014 season at Boone Speedway on Saturday, July 26.

about to have lap traffic come into play.  On lap fourteen, the two came down the frontstretch, only to make contact, sending VanGenderen spinning—the result of a broken tie rod, and his night ending.  When the race restarted, Woods was holding down the lead, and Scott Davis was now in the runner up spot, after starting tenth.  Woods held on to his point position the remaining way to the checkers, securing his first win at Boone this season.  Davis finished second, and third went to Russ Dickerson, who had started in row six.  Croskey was fourth and last week’s winner, Josh Truman was fifth.

The IMCA Stock Cars put on their usual fantastic 18-lap show for the fans.  Eric Brown held down the lead when lap one was scored, only to have a yellow fly for an incident in turn one.  When things got back underway, Brown continued to lead through the halfway mark of the race, but had company in veteran driver Robert Stofer close behind.  Stofer pestered Brown for several laps, finally making his peek to the outside succeed, and taking command.  The final few laps were a constant changing of the guard behind the leader, who contentedly lengthened his lead from them, and took the win.  Jerry Gifford fought hard for his second place finish, coming from tenth starting spot, to just beat out Donovan Smith in third.  A close fourth was Jay Schmidt who started eleventh and nipping at his heels in fifth, was Mike Goldsberry.  Early leader Eric Brown, fell back to finish sixth.  Stofer won for the second time this season.

Another night of regular points racing awaits next Saturday night, August 2, with hot laps at 6:45 and racing at 7:30.

Filed Under: 2014FeaturedHeadlines

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.