All-Stars shine Friday at Super Nationals

All-Stars shine Friday at Super Nationals

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 5) – Thirty of the best Modified drivers in the country get their chance to shine on night Fast-Shafts-All-Star-Logo-2014five of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.

The Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational headlines the Friday show at Boone Speedway. That race will be 30 laps and pays $1,000 to win plus lap money.

As a bonus, the winner becomes a candidate for the 2015 All-Star Invitational ballot.

Drivers elected to tonight’s starting field were Dean Abbey of Waco, Texas, 2011 race winner Chris Abelson of Sioux City, Troy Cordes of Dunkerton, Chris Fleming of Union Springs, N.Y., Jeremy Frenier of Fort Morgan, Colo., Cody Gearhart of Turpin, Okla., Joe German of Aberdeen, Wash., William Gould of Calera, Okla., Jimmy Gustin of Marshalltown, Chase Hansen of Myton, Utah, Robert Hellebust of Minot, N.D., Scott Hogan of Vinton, Mike Jergens of Plover, Corey Lagroon of Salina, Kan., Ryan McDaniel of Olivehurst, Calif., Jason Murray of Hartford, Jason Noll of Peoria, Ariz., Brad Pounds of Bakersfield, Calif., defending race winner Todd Shute of Des Moines, Jared Siefert of Luxemburg, Wis., Dustin Smith of Lake City, Jesse Sobbing of Glenwood, Kyle Strickler of Mooresville, N.C., Jeff Taylor of Cave City, Ark., Ricky Thornton Jr. of Chandler, Ariz., A.J. Ward of Ionia, Mich., Tim Ward of Gilbert, Ariz., and Keith White of Little River Academy, Texas.

Completing the grid are Cory Sample of Winnemucca, Nev., the top All-Star candidate in attendance at Boone in feature wins, and Ronn Lauritzen of Jesup, the top All-Star candidate in national points.

The All-Star autograph session has been moved from the fan zone to a dryer location behind the west grandstands.


Thirty Modified heats – already underway – and 20 Stock Car heats are on the schedule today at Super Nationals.

The top four finishers in each of two qualifying features for those divisions advance to the outside row of their respective main event fields.


Winners of Thursday night qualifying features for both Modifieds and Stock Cars will also sign autographs during track prep sessions on Friday.


The foursome of Jerrod Hansen, Kent Inman, Andy Griffith and Chris Obermeir carded a six-under score of 30 to win this morning’s Duffer Nationals Golf Tournament.

Each team was required to have at least one Super Nationals participant. The 25th annual tournament was held at the Cedar Pointe Golf Course.


Results of the past two days proved Jay Schmidt to be a better race car driver that roshambo player.

Schmidt won his qualifying feature, and his career 12th Super Nationals Stock Car main event start, on Wednesday.

On Thursday, Jerry Gifford got the rock, paper, scissors best of Schmidt to earn the Saturday night pole.

“We came in with the same setup, motor and tranny as we run weekly, said Schmidt, the runner-up last year and not much concerned about where he starts from tomorrow night. “The first few years I qualified were really nerve wracking. We’ve learned to just go run your race. That’s what we did Wednesday night.”