Blochlinger is best in Wednesday night Modified qualifier at Boone

Blochlinger is best in Wednesday night Modified qualifier at Boone

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 5) – Brandon Blochlinger will get another shot at the most coveted title in dirt track racing.

And he’ll get it from the pole.

Blochlinger led all 25 laps of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals Modified qualifying fea­ture Wednesday night. He will start at the front of the inside row in the big dance on Saturday night at Boone Speedway.

The Concordia, Kan., clipper led much of the way in the 2010 main event before falling by the wayside with mechanical woes. Blochlinger clearly had the fastest car on the track Wednesday, checking out before a series of mid-race cautions and then pulling away again on each of the ensuing restarts.

Josh Most ran second most of the way before giving way briefly to Troy Cordes, who made the best run at Blochlinger before Most regained the runner-up spot.

The rest of the top eight finishers advancing to the main event were J.D. Auringer, Ronn Lau­ritzen, Jordan Grabouski, Josh Sherbon and 2007 champion Todd Shute, who made his way from the 29th starting spot.

Lauritzen advanced 13 positions, Cordes 10 to qualify.

Cordes will star his ninth Super Nationals main event on Saturday, Shute his sixth and Auringer his fourth.

Blochlinger and Grabouski are both in for the second time, Most, Lauritzen and Sherbon all for the first time.

Feature results – 1. Brandon Blochlinger, Concordia, Kan.; 2. Josh Most, Red Oak; 3. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton; 4. J.D. Auringer, Waterloo; 5. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup; 6. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice, Neb.; 7. Josh Sherbon, Cedar Falls; 8. Todd Shute, Des Moines; 9. Luke Wanninger, Grimes; 10. Dylan Smith, Osceola, Neb.; 11. Curt Lund, Redwood Falls, Minn.; 12. Tim Ward, Gilbert, Ariz.; 13. Jeff Stephens, Arion; 14. Randy Havlik, Boone; 15. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill.; 16. Jeff Feaster, Humboldt; 17. Chase Hansen, Myton, Utah; 18. Cale Osborn, Lexington, Neb.; 19. Jay Noteboom, Hinton; 20. Dan Ratajczak, Luxemburg, Wis.; 21. Mark Patterson, Abilene, Texas; 22. Michael Albertsen, Audubon; 23. Greg Cox, Colfax; 24. Shane DeMey, Dennison; 25. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 26. Michael Reichart, Des Moines; 27. Jeremy Frenier, Fort Morgan, Colo.; 28. Dan Menk, Franklin, Minn.; 29. Cory Wray, Jamesport, Mo.; 30. Austin Wolf, Algona.