Boone Speedway Frostbuster wins to Ward, Jerovetz, Carter, and Smith

Boone Speedway Frostbuster wins to Ward, Jerovetz, Carter, and Smith

April 8, 2023

Boone Speedway kicked off its 2023 racing season with their Frostbuster special on Saturday that saw 166 racing machines checked into the pits. The IMCA Friesen Performance Modifieds, Sunoco Stock Cars, Friesen Performance Northern SportMods, and Sunoco Hobby Stocks were in competition.

The Northern SportMods kicked off the feature racing with the running of their 20 lap main event.

Brayton Carter started second on the lineup grid, and immediately grabbed the lead when the race went green.  Carter had the field covered as he would go on to lead all laps on his way to victory.  Taylor Kuehl, last year’s Frostbuster winner, had to be content with the runner up position this year.  Cam Reimers came home in third place after starting eleventh.  Beatrice, Nebraska driver, Adam Armstrong started twelfth, and finished fourth, and thirteenth place starter, Braden Richards, completed the top five.

Carter won the first night of the Frostbuster series on Friday at the Marshalltown Speedway, and earned the double bonus payout of $1,000 for tonight’s win.

Tim Ward won the Modified 25 lap A Main, and he too earned the double bonus of $2,000 after his win at the Marshalltown Frostbuster Friday.  Ward started seventh, and worked his way to the lead with fifteen laps in the books after a dandy battle with Johnathon Logue and Todd Shute….haymakers being thrown.  The final laps of the race found Ward pulling away, and scoring his second win in as many days.  Shute took second place, Jimmy Gustin was third, and Jerry Flippo, the Bakersfield, California native who now calls Clear Lake, Iowa home, came from fourteenth to nab fourth place.  Cory Sauerman drove his machine from fourteenth to score a fifth place finish.

The IMCA Stock Cars, came to the track next for 25 laps of feature racing, and for the third time of the night, a repeat winner from Frostbuster #1 the previous night, grabbed the double bonus payout.

Josh Daniels led the race through lap twelve but Troy Jerovetz by this time had raced his way from twelfth, into the runner position.  A well-timed yellow and subsequent restart was just what Jerovetz had hoped for.  On the restart, Jerovetz was able to nose under leader Daniels in turn two, and take over the number one spot.  In the closing laps, Jerovetz drove off and finished under the checkers a comfortable distance ahead of Daniels who took second.  Third was Tom Berry, who tried to make the topside work where very few opted to venture, fourth was Minnesota racer Dan Mackenthun in his brightly wrapped hotrod, and Jay Schmidt was fifth. Jerovetz went home with $1,500 for his repeat 2023 Frostbuster wins.

The night’s racing ended with the 20 lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature.  Mike Smith started sixth, and had the lead by lap one after a called back restart for a pileup in corner four worked to his advantage.  Smith never looked back from there as he sailed home to the win.  Curt Reed took second after starting tenth, third went to Bedford, Iowa’s Luke Ramsey, fourth was Chad Rigby, and John Watson came all the way from eighteenth, to finish fifth.

Next Saturday night, April 15, will be opening points night at the speedway.  Pits open at 3:30, Grandstand at 4:30, Hot Laps at 5, and racing at 6.  Modifieds, Stock Cars, Northern SportMods, Hobby Stocks, and STARS Mod Lites will are on the program.