Bushore buzzes to another Modified victory

Bushore buzzes to another Modified victory

August 11, 2018

It was Elmquist Towing and KMJ Performance night at the races on Saturday at the Boone Speedway.  All but one driver took return trips to victory lane.  It was Donavon Smith stepping foot into the winner’s circle for the first time this season in the IMCA Stock Car division.  Joel Bushore buzzed his way to another IMCA Modified victory in his 6-cylinder machine, Johnathon Logue in the IMCA Northern SportMod class, Aaron Rudolph in the IMCA Hobby Stocks, Mike Kennedy in the Mod Lites, and the 2-person Cruiser tag team of Mason and Agan also repeated earlier wins.

The Mod Lite 15-lap feature did not start well when Justin Rankin took a nasty ride on the backstretch, rolling several times.  Thankfully he was not injured.  When the race got underway, it was Mike Kennedy flying to the lead from his fifth starting spot, and then pulling away.  He was slicing through the field with ease, and enjoying  a comfortable lead when the yellow came out, erasing that lead.  Kennedy was able to maintain that top spot when the race resumed, and raced home to the checkers.  It was a close one at those checkers however, with Bryan Zehm and Travis Stensland nipping at his heels as they crossed the finish line, second and third in that order.  Joe Glick finished fourth and Charlie Brown was fifth.  Kennedy won for the second time this year.

Johnathon Logue returned to the winner’s circle for the third time this season in the IMCA Northern SportMod division.  Logue came from eleventh starting spot to capture that victory in the 18-lap event. Twelfth place starter Jake McBirnie followed him through the pack of cars to finish as the runner up.  Austin Luellen started fourteenth and finished third, fourth went to Tyler Titus, and Dusty Masolini completed the top five.

The IMCA Stock Car 18-lap feature was a jim-dandy…as if often is.  Multi-car battles were going on throughout the field much of the race. A great 3-way joust for the lead developed between Tyler Pickett, Scott Davis and Ty Hill with Pickett holding the top spot. Then as the laps were winding down, Davis took advantage of a lap car, and slipped around for the lead.  The waning moments saw three yellows fly, sending the field to an “overtime” green-white-checkered finish that saw much shuffling of position.  When the checkers finally flew, it was Donavon Smith making a last ditch pass coming out of corner four to take the win, just beating Davis, who had to be content with the runner up spot.  Jay Schmidt made a late race rally to finish third from starting twelfth, Johnny Spaw took fourth, and Ty Hill finished fifth.  Smith, who started fourteenth, made his first trip to victory lane in 2018.

Joel Bushore has his 6-cylinder IMCA Modified figured out.  He reeled in early leader Cory Sauerman and slipped by him for the lead at lap nine of the 20-lap race.  From there on, Bushore buzzed along….the distinct sound of the machine easily heard, and captured his second feature win at the speedway this year.    He finished comfortably ahead of second place Cory Wray, visiting Trenton, Missouri racer who had started fifteenth.  Sauerman fell back to finish third, fourth went to Al Wolfgram, and Jon Snyder rounded out the top five.

Aaron Rudolph started eighth and raced his way to victory in the 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stock A main.  Rudolph got around last week’s winner Adam Tiernan on lap eight and kept the top spot the remaining four laps to the double checkers.  Tiernan held on to the runner up spot, third went to Gregg Anderson, Matt McDonald was fourth, and Ryan Wells came all the way from seventeenth, to finish fifth.

The night cap was the 2-person Cruiser feature with the tag team competitors racing for shiny championship belts.  Taking home those shiny prizes were the duo of Donnie Mason and Carl Agan, who repeated their victory from last week.  They held their ground against a last lap “rubbin’ is racing” move by second place finishers Sheldon and Chris Richardson.  Third went to Derek Goudeau and Sam Smith, fourth was the team of Jarod Peterson and Matt Ezarshi, and Brandon Alden and Logan Lyons took fifth.

Racing continues next Saturday night, August 18 with hot laps at 6:45 and the green flag drops at 7:30.