Caruth captures win at Boone

Caruth captures win at Boone

Modified action on July 17, 2010July 17, 2010

A hot and humid July night in Iowa didn't stop drivers or fans from enjoying a great evening of racing at the Boone Speedway on Saturday night.  A new name was added to the winner's list in the modified division, red flags and yellow-checkered finishes completed other classes.

The Dwarf/Mod Lite feature was one of those ending under a yellow-checkered.  In an unfortunate incident in turn two, the father-son drivers of James and Josh May brought the race to a close after the white flag had flown.  It appeared son Josh May hopped the tire of his father's car, causing him to roll in turn two.  Mike Kennedy had crossed the finish line leading at the white flag and was awarded the win.  Charlie Brown secured a second place finish while Tim Hennigar garnered third.  Fourth went to Mike Morrill and coming home in fifth was Travis Stensland.

Scott Davis posted back-to-back wins in taking the IMCA SportMod feature, stretching his point lead even further. He was able to take the lead on the white flag lap, making the pass on second place finisher, Bill Wears. Third was Darren Huntley, fourth went to Matthew Meinecke and Eric Elliott was fifth.  This race would also end under yellow-checkers when an incident occurred after the white flag had flown.

Nate Caruth scored his first win of the year at Boone in the IMCA Modified feature.  He out distanced Russ Dickerson who was the runner up, Kelly Lyons in third, point leader Cale Sponsler in fourth and fifth place finisher was Perry, Iowa's Jake Durbin. Caruth led all but the opening lap of the 20-lap feature.

Next up was the IMCA Stock Cars for their 18-lap A main.  Veteran driver Robert Stofer got his second feature win of the year as he kept his car ahead of second place finisher and point leader, Donavon Smith.  Jerry Gifford took third over fourth place finisher Jay Schmidt and fifth went to last week's winner, Cory Bushnell.

In the IMCA Hobby Stock class, a red flag was flying before one lap was scored when Matt Hudspeth put his car on it's lid in turn four. Austin Luellen would lead the charge until two laps to go when Aaron Rudolph took over the lead.  Rudolph got the win as he held off a hard charging Randy Embrey who had to settle for the runner up place.  Third went to Austin Luellen, fourth to Michael Murphy and fifth was Scott Lograsso.

Next Saturday night, July 24th, will be a regular point night at the Boone Speedway with races scheduled for 7:30. There will also be a coin toss for the youngsters. Hope to see you there!