Chandlers celebrate a championship in Sport Compact debut

Chandlers celebrate a championship in Sport Compact debut

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 6) – One of IMCA’s first families finally celebrated a Super Nationals championship at Boone Speedway.

Nathan Chandler won the inaugural main event for Mach-1 Sport Compacts Tuesday night at the IMCA Speedway MotorsSuper Nationals fueled by Cenex.

“We were talking about this earlier in the week. It always seemed like something would go wrong the night before Boone,” said Chandler, chased to the checkers by his brother Brad. “It feels really good to win the first championship for this division. It means a lot to all of us.”

Another brother, Dallas, was fifth while father Merv, the patriarch of the Chandler clan, finished 10th. Merv Chandler competed in the first Super Nationals in 1983 and made the big show another five times during his Modified career.

Despite a restart after pole starter John Whalen rolled to a stop on the backstretch, Nathan Chandler needed just two laps to speed from the 12th starting spot to third early on.

Despite getting briefly out of his preferred line, he caught Bill Whalen Jr. for second and made up ground in a hurry on leader Chuck Fullenkamp, taking over up front just before midway in the 20-lapper.

Nathan Chandler caught up with the back of the pack right before a lap 10 yellow. Brad Chandler passed Fullenkamp the next time around.

Fullenkamp and Gary Peiffer ran three-four the rest of the way while Dallas Chandler and cousin Jacob McVoy rounded out the top six.

“I knew Brad would race me clean, but I knew he wanted to win, too,” Nathan Chandler said. “We raced together three nights a week each year for the last three years and we race each other hard.”

Their regular tracks this season were CJ Speedway, West Liberty Raceway and Benton County Speedway.

Pausing during a post-race autograph session to acknowledge career-long support of several sponsors, Chandler noted that the champion of the first Super Nationals, Mike Schulte, also hailed from his hometown of Norway, Iowa.

“Maybe there’s something in the water,” he said.

Matt Echevarria was the hard charger advancing 134 positions to finish seventh.

Feature results – 1. Nathan Chandler, Norway; 2. Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 3. Chuck Fullenkamp, Fort Madison; 4. Gary Peiffer, Troy Mills; 5. Dallas Chandler, Vinton; 6. Jacob McVoy, Palo; 7. Matthew Echevarria, Junction City, Kan.; 8. Scott Spellmeier, Marysville, Kan.; 9. Bill Whalen Jr., Riverside; 10. Merv Chandler, Vinton; 11. Zachary Malchow, Hutchinson, Minn.; 12. Cory Flanigan, Storm Lake; 13. Mike Nehring, Ankeny; 14. Cody Swanson, Waterloo; 15. Megan Lappegard, Estherville; 16. Allen Guthrie, Raymore, Mo.; 17. Amanda Rhiley, Bennington, Neb.; 18. Kaleb Jasperson, Norfolk, Neb.; 19. Jer Pedersen, Dana; 20. Lisa Rolfes, Merrill; 21. Nate Coopman, Mankato, Minn.; 22. Jason Kroeger, Manilla; 23. Brett Vanous, Quasqueton; 24. Tyler Fralin, Beatrice, Neb.; 25. Tyler Whalen, Riverside; 26. John Whalen, Ainsworth; 27. Jesse Totten, Schleswig.

1st heat (top three qualify) – 1. John Whalen; 2. Swanson; 3. Guthrie; 4. Daniel Jacobus, Arlington, Minn.; 5. Tyler Thompson, Sioux City; 6. Jacob Peters, Des Moines; 7. Jamie Mahlberg, Earling; 8. Alex Davis, Denison; 9. Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids.

2nd heat – 1. Bill Whalen Jr.; 2. Fullenkamp; 3. Merv Chandler; 4. Nehring; 5. Rolfes; 6. Pedersen; 7. Josh Roehl, Appleton, Wis.; 8. Chris Friesth, Vincent.

3rd heat – 1. Brad Chandler; 2. Dallas Chandler; 3. Vanous; 4. Flanigan; 5. Rhiley; 6. Dan Juszczyk, Krakow, Wis.; 7. Jodie Maben, Clearfield; 8. Austin Brauner, Saint Edward, Neb.

4th heat – 1. Peiffer; 2. Nathan Chandler; 3. Tyler Whalen; 4. Echevarria; 5. Justice Colson, Grand Island, Neb.; 6. Steve Miedke, Shellsburg; 7. Allen Rice, Minneapolis, Kan.; 8. Daniel Ayers, Webster City.

5th heat – 1. McVoy; 2. Coopman; 3. Totten; 4. Jake McCloud, Carter Lake; 5. Jordan Peters, Des Moines; 6. Luke Jackson, Sioux City; 7. Vincent Jasper, Jetmore, Kan.; 8. Kroeger.

6th heat – 1. Fralin; 2. Spellmeier; 3. Malchow; 4. Lappegard; 5. Cody Thompson, Sioux City; 6. Erik Nelson, Central City, Neb.; 7. Cameron Meyer, Pierce, Neb.; 8. Kaleb Jasperson, Norfolk, Neb.

1st “B” feature (top three) – 1. Nehring; 2. Rolfes; 3. Pedersen; 4. Jacobus; 5. Tyler Thompson; 6. Friesth; 7. Bailey; 8. Peters; 9. Mahlberg; 10. Roehl; 11. Davis.

2nd “B” feature – 1. Echevarria; 2. Flanigan; 3. Rhiley; 4. Colson; 5. Juszczyk; 6. Ayers; 7. Rice; 8. Brauner; 9. Maben; 10. Miedke.

3rd “B” feature – 1. Lappegard; 2. Jasperson; 3. Kroeger; 4. Cody Thompson; 5. Jackson; 6. Meyer; 7. McCloud; 8. Nelson; 9. Peters; 10. Jasper.