Dickerson, Schmidt, Mallicoat, Ramsey and Kennedy take checkers

Dickerson, Schmidt, Mallicoat, Ramsey and Kennedy take checkers

July 3, 2021

It was another weekly racing series at the Boone Speedway on Saturday night, with the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Northern SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, and the IMCA STARS Mod Lites in competition.  Nine 2-person Cruisers were also in exhibition with the duo of Don Mason and Jason Miller taking home the trophy.

Mike Kennedy would lead all but the opening lap of the My Race Pass IMCA STARS Mod Lite 15 lap A Main.  Kennedy started tenth on the grid, and zoomed into the lead on the restart after a lap one caution flew.  He went unhindered the rest of the way to the checkers, his second of the season.  Bryan Zehm took the runner up spot after starting ninth.  Third went to Josh May, Jon Braathun was fourth, and Fontanelle, Iowa’s Dustin Ford completed the top five.   The race was marred by two consecutive red flags at lap eight when first Cody Yaw tipped his ride over in turn two, and then on the restart, Doug Byers rolled it several times out of corner four as the race went green.  Both drivers were okay.

The Elmquist Towing IMCA Northern SportMods started a field of 28 cars for their 18 lap feature.  Dustin Lynch jumped to the immediate lead from his outside front row starting position and was looking strong, with Danny Fye and Ryan King in tow behind him. By lap nine, Izac Mallicoat had put his ride to the bumper of Lynch and it only took him three more laps before taking over the lead.  Heavy lap traffic in the closing moments were no issue for young Mallicoat as he went home to the flying checkers and the win.  Lynch finished in second, Ryan King took third, Danny Fye was fourth, and Ryan Leeman was fifth.  This was Mallicoat’s third feature win of the year.

It was a popular crowd win for local Boone racer Russ Dickerson in the IMCA Modified feature. Dickerson started fifth and ran down early leader Chris Palsrok, taking command on lap eight.  Dickerson kept that lead the remaining distance to the checkers.  Doug Smith took the runner up spot, with Nick Roberts in third.  Hard charger was Jake McBirnie, coming from eighteenth starting spot, to finish fourth, and rounding out the top five was Sibley, Iowa’s Chris Palsrok.  This was Dickerson’s first trip back to Victory Lane in several years.

The Class too Tough to Tame, the Arnold Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars were up next for their 20 lap feature.  Austin Meiners, Polk City, Iowa racer started on the pole and took the lead as the race went green.  Kyle Everts quickly moved from starting fifth, to fall in behind the leader.  At lap five, Everts was the new leader, and just two laps later, eleventh place starter Jay Schmidt had moved into second place.  The two would tussle for several laps before Schmidt was finally able to nose under Everts, and take over the lead at lap thirteen.  Schmidt then held the upper hand the rest of the way and secured his first win of the season.  Troy Jerovetz came from tenth place to finish as the runner up, holding off Devin Smith in third, and Scott Davis in fourth, and Jeff Mueller in his new ride, came from twenty-fourth…dead last…to finish fifth.

It took a while for the Pickett Salvage IMCA Hobby Stocks to find their rhythm in their 15 lap feature event.  Three yellows flew by lap four with Jack Phillips leading from the drop of the green.  But he now had tenth place starter Luke Ramsey breathing down his tailpipe on the restart.  That was all Ramsey needed, as he grabbed the lead quickly and kept it to the finish and the win.  Aaron Rudolph was second, Wayne Gifford started fourteenth and finished third, early leader Phillips was fourth, and Curt Reed completed the top five.  This was Ramsey’s first win of the season.

Boone Speedway holds its annual 4th of July spectacular tomorrow with the Eve of Destruction along with the city of Boone Fireworks.  Then next Saturday night July 10, will be another regular night of racing along with a King of the Hill for the IMCA Stock Cars.  Hot laps are 6 p.m. with racing at 7.