Dickerson wins Eve of Destruction spectacular

Dickerson wins Eve of Destruction spectacular

July 4, 2018

Mother Nature tried to stop the 4th of July Eve of Destruction at the Boone Speedway, but she wasn’t successful.  Rain fell prior to the start of the night’s festivities, but the track was quickly put back into shape.  The IMCA Modifieds were racing for $1,000 to win as well as track, state, regional, and national points.  Also on the docket were 2-person cruisers, a burnout contest, a rollover contest, outhouse races, and a leap of death, and capping it all off, a spectacular fireworks show.

The 25-lap IMCA Modified feature rolled to the track with twenty-two cars strong.  Joel Bushore led the opening laps with his fellow front row starter Russ Dickerson tucked in behind.  Dickerson grabbed the lead from Bushore at lap eleven, and then was able to hold off any challenges the remainder of the way to the flying checkers.  Jimmy Gustin gave it his best shot, a couple of times, but came up short and had to be content with the runner up spot.  Third went to rookie to the class Josh May, fourth was Kelly Shryock who started eighth, and David Brown completed the top five.  This was Dickerson’s first win at the speedway in 2018.

The 2-person Cruisers debuted on the track, and it was the team of Dennis Berghalin and Joseph Baker putting their names into the record book.  Cody and Casey Yarington finished in second place,  and third went to the team of Chris Kirby and Dave Piper.

Weekly racing continues this Saturday night, July 7, when the green flag drops at 7:30.