Field is full of favorites, but there’s no favorite to win 10th Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational

Field is full of favorites, but there’s no favorite to win 10th Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational

BOONE, Iowa – In a field full of favorites, there will be no favorite to win the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

Twenty-eight IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modified drivers from 11 states and Canada have been elected by race fans to start the 10th annual event, on Friday, Sept. 6 during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.

One hundred and fourteen drivers, all regional or state champions, or the winners of sanctioned events paying $1,000 or more were on the original All-Star ballot. Three drivers from each of the five Modified regions were elected to start the race in the first round ofFast Shafts Logovoting, conducted through the IMCA website.

The next group of 13 were elected at-large via the IMCA Facebook page from the candidates with the 16th through the 40th highest website vote totals.

The All-Star field of 30  will be completed by the top unelected All-Star candidates in attendance at Boone Speedway in national point standings and in the number of feature wins as of Aug. 30.

“I’ve been impressed by every All-Star field since this race was added to the Super Nationals pro­gram in 2004,” IMCA Vice President of Operations Brett Root said, “and this year’s field is as good as any in the history of the event. When you look at the names it’s hard to believe that some of these guys have never been in this race before.”

Jay Noteboom won in 2005 and 2008 and will take the All-Star green for the eighth time, more than any other driver. David Murray Jr. won the 2004, 2007 and 2010 events and was elected to start his career sixth All-Star race.

2006 winner Joren Boyce joins the Friday night field for the fifth time while Brad Pounds and Tim Ward both make their career fourth All-Star starts.

In for the third time are 2009 winner Kevin Stoa, Dylan Smith, defending Super Nationals cham­pion Jeff Taylor, defending national champion Keith White and Justen Yeager.

Making their second All-Star appearances are Kevan Cook, 2012 runner-up Mark Elliott, Jimmy Gustin, Jeremy Mills, Todd Shute and Dustin Smith.

First-time All-Stars are Brandon Blochlinger, Troy Cordes, Darin Duffy, William Gould, Ryan McDan­iel, Josh McGaha, Gary Roberts, Jesse Sobbing, Kyle Strickler, Ricky Thornton Jr., Aaron Turnbull and Ryan Watnem.

The All-Star Invitational pays $1,000 to win and is a qualifying event for the 2014 race.