Four in a row for McBirnie and Watson

Four in a row for McBirnie and Watson

July 14, 2018

It was a beautiful Saturday night for racing at the Boone Speedway with all weekly classes in competition.  All regular weekly divisions found drivers taking return visits to victory lane.

Bryan Zehm took home the win in the 15-lap Mod Lite A main event.  He ran down leader Charlie Brown and the two battled for the lead in the closing laps.  Brown was leading as the checkers were being unfurled, but he then found himself spinning in corner four, and Zehm scurried across the finish line for the win.  Mike Kennedy came from eighth starting spot to finish as the runner up, third went to Joe Glick, and Travis Stensland and Jeff Stensland, completed the top five.  This was Zehm’s fourth feature win at Boone this year. Zehm and Travis Stensland are now tied for the points battle.

In the 18-lap IMCA Northern SportMod feature, it was once again the #82 of Jake McBirnie rising to the top of the field and taking the win.  McBirnie made a great run through the field from his sixteenth starting position, caught then leader Austin Luellen at a dozen laps in and then the two went to battle, running side by side until McBirnie was able to make the pass for the lead with a lap remaining.  He then held that top spot to the flying checkers and the win.  Luellen, who had started eleventh, had to be content with the runner up spot, third went to Johnathon Logue, Hunter Longnecker scored a fourth place finish after starting fifteenth, and thirteenth place starter Cory Rose, was fifth.  McBirnie now has four wins in a row, and five total for the season.  Luellen maintains his point lead.

Mike Houseman took the win in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint 20-lap feature.  He started sixth, and had the lead at lap three, never to look back on his way to victory.  Tyler Thompson tried reeling in the leader, but had to be content with the runner up spot.  Ben Woods got around Devin Wignall in the closing moments, as they finished third and fourth respectively, and it was Matt Richards taking fifth after starting in twelfth position.  Tyler Thompson holds down the point lead in the RaceSaver Sprint division.

The IMCA Stock Cars always produce great racing week in and week out, and last night was no different.  Bryan Snell took advantage of his pole starting spot in the 18-lap feature, jumping to the immediate lead.  Madrid racer Jon Byriel kept close on his heels through the first portion of the race, until fifth row starters Jay Schmidt and Johnny Spaw suddenly drew into the picture.  Schmidt and Spaw first got around Byriel and then a few laps later, took over the two top positions as they also got by Snell.  The two battled back and forth for the top spot, Schmidt taking claim to the lead first, and then Spaw taking over, and keeping it then to the finish line and the win.  Schmidt finished a close second, Snell trailed a distant third, Jon Byriel was fourth and last week’s winner Scott Davis rounded out the top five.  This was Spaw’s second win of the year.  Jay Schmidt is the Stock Car point leader.

The IMCA Modifieds had to weather several yellow flag situations, but in the end it was Tim Ward standing in the winner’s circle.  Joel Bushore led much of the race but Ward, who had started twelfth, methodically made his way through the stacked field of cars.  At lap thirteen, Ward got to second place and began pressuring Bushore.  That pressure paid off with four laps remaining of the 20-lap affair, as he made the pass for the lead.  In the closing laps, Ward pulled away, taking the comfortable win, his third of the season.  Bushore trailed in second, third went to eleventh place starter Randy Havlik, Brandon Leeman got the hard charger award, starting twenty-first, and finishing fourth, and new driver Terry Hurt from Omaha, Nebraska came from twentieth, to finish fifth.  Havlik is the Modified point leader.

Three drivers put on a whale of a battle in the 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature.  Keith Burg led through the halfway mark of the race but had John Watson and Andrew Burg barking at his heels the entire time.  At lap nine, Watson managed the pass for the lead, and then held on to take the win.  Andrew Burg took the second spot, beating out his son Keith Burg in third.  Fourth place went to Aaron Rudolph and Jack Phillips took fifth.  This was Watson’s fourth win in a row, and his fifth over all.

Two-person cruisers closed out the night’s racing action.  The #8 duo of Donnie Mason and Carl Agan took the win easily.  Following in second it was Ty Matuera and Troy Borsch, third was Brett Warrick and Brandon Allen, fourth place finishers were the team of Jeremy Moore and Joel Farleyh and fifth place was Brandon Williams and Seth Bowen.

Racing continues next Saturday night in all classes.  Hot laps are 6:45 and racing at 7:30.