Frostbuster wins to Dickerson, Munoz, McBirnie and Stanton

Frostbuster wins to Dickerson, Munoz, McBirnie and Stanton

April 8, 2017

Boone Speedway hosted night #2 of the 2017 IMCA Frostbuster series races on Saturday night.  The fans were treated to some spectacular racing put on by the 146 cars, with drivers from nine states and Canada, that competed.

Kicking off the feature racing was the 20-lap IMCA Northern SportMod feature.  Austin Luellen drew the lucky pole position for the start of the race.  He jumped to the lead,  but soon had Johnathan Logue and Jake McBirnie close on his heels.  McBirnie seized his opportunity at lap thirteen, making the pass for the lead.  From there on out, he kept that top spot, taking the checkers and the win.  Austin Luellen had to settle for the runner up spot, Johnathan Logue held on to third, fourth went to eleventh place starter Sam Wieben, and Wyatt Block, visiting Tigerton, Wisconsin racer, started fifteenth and finished fifth.

A stout field of 42 IMCA Modifieds had to be whittled down to the 24-car starting field for their 25-lap feature.  Clint Luellen, Jason Wolla and Russ Dickerson thrilled the crowd with their tight battle for position.  Wolla grabbed the lead briefly, only to have Russ Dickerson take over at lap eighteen.  Dickerson maintained the coveted spot to the double checkers flying, securing the win.  Wolla, Ray, North Dakota racer was second, and Luellen held third place.  Fourth went to defending track champion, Mike VanGenderen, and Missouri racer, Hunter Marriott completed the top five.

Eric Stanton picked up where he left off last year as defending track champion in the IMCA Hobby Stock division, sailing home to yet another victory.  Stanton, who started eighth, ran down early leaders Jack Phillips and Solomon Bennett at lap thirteen of the fifteen lap race, and took the comfortable win.  Bennett followed in second place, and Phillips in third.  Bryce Sommerfield finished fourth and tenth place starter, Justin Wacha, was fifth.

The racing action concluded with the 20-lap IMCA Stock Car feature.  It also gave the fans their money’s worth in some close, exciting racing.   Jay Schmidt held down the top spot as he fended off challenges by Michael Murphy, Angel Munoz, and Marcus Fagan through much of the race.  Munoz got to second and kept working to the inside of Schmidt.  He was finally able to slip past for the lead at lap sixteen, keeping it for good and scoring the win.  Michael Murphy claimed second place, and Jay Schmidt was third.  Fourth went to Fagen, and twelfth place starter Larry Karcz, Jr. from Pulaski, Wisconsin, rounded out the top five.  Winner Munoz, is from Lamar, Colorado.

Next Saturday, April 15, is opening points night at the track.  IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Northern SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks and the Mod Lites will be racing.  Hot laps are 5:45 and the green flag drops at 6:30 through the month of April.