Gustin, Smith and Anderson take late race wins

Gustin, Smith and Anderson take late race wins

June 28,2014

Mother Nature tried, but failed, to stop the racing at the Boone Speedway on Saturday night.  The Speedway had been saturated— flooded in some areas— and ponds in the infield from Friday’s rain.  Another round of rain on Saturday threatened the fate of the racing program, but the countless hours of track maintenance prevailed and the first heat started right on it’s scheduled 7:30 time.  Three features were determined in the closing moments, while another was won by a comfortable straightaway.

The 15-lap Mod Lite feature had a duo of brothers leading the pack by lap one.  Charlie Brown took the lead, his brother Terry Brown flying into second.  The two had started along

Shannon Anderson

IMCA Hobby Stock driver Shannon Anderson made a final lap surge to snatch the win at Boone Speedway on Saturday, June 28, 2014.

side each other in row three, and they continued their run at the front in that order through the half way point.  Terry Brown had been peeking to the outside for several laps, and by lap eleven, made his attempt at the pass work, taking the lead.  Terry Brown kept his hold on the point position the remaining way to the checkers and the win.  The last lap saw Bryan Zehm slip past Charlie Brown as they finished second and third respectively.  Randy Bryan and Mike Kennedy completed the top five.  This was Terry Brown second win of the year.

The 18-lap IMCA Northern SportMod feature was won by inches!  Jake McBirnie nabbed the lead at lap one and Doug Smith settled into second.  McBirnie, in his rookie year in the class, continued his hold on the lead, fending off the challenges of Smith in poised fashion.  McBirnie took the white flag, but as the checkers were in sight, Doug Smith used the lap traffic to his advantage, getting to the finish line first….by mere inches.  Smith took his second win at the track, McBirnie having to be content with the runner up spot.  Third was Johnathon Logue, fourth went to Tim Love and Brandon Williams finished fifth.  This was Smith’s second win at Boone this year.

Shane Butler took the lead at the drop of the green in the 12-lap Hobby Stock feature.  Daniel Hagen tucked into second behind the leader.  Hagen’s night ended at lap seven when he dropped his drive shaft, bringing out a yellow.  As laps wound down Butler maintained his lead, Dustin Graham was running in second, with close company in Shannon Anderson and Eric Stanton.  Butler led as the white flag flew and was looking for the checkers as he came out of turn four.  Anderson however, was not done.  He made a final surge as they came to the finish line, snatching the win.  Butler had to be content with the runner up spot, Eric Stanton took third, fourth was Dustin Graham and Josh Saunders rounded out the top five.  Anderson won for the third time at the Speedway in 2014.

Veteran racer Robert Avery looked strong as he led the 20-lap Modified feature, holding Tony Cox at bay.  By lap four, Jimmy Gustin had come calling, up to third from his tenth starting spot.  Cox held Gustin off until lap thirteen when he took over second place, and then began his quest to reel in the leader.  Gustin made it happen with a lap remaining, flew to the lead, and took the victory.  Avery finished second, Cox held on to third, Randy Havlik was fourth and Russ Dickerson finished in fifth.  This was Gustin’s second win of the season.

The 18-lap IMCA Stock Car feature did not get a lap scored before an incident in front of the grandstand halted the race.  It resulted in Craig Carlson climbing the cement wall near the flagstand, Scott Bailey also up against the cement wall, and point leader Jay Schmidt unable to avoid contact, taking out his radiator.   It ended the race for all three.  When the race did get under way, Mike Goldsberry was scored the leader at lap one, only to exit the track the very next lap, and Wayne Gifford taking the lead.  From there on, Gifford just drove off from the rest of the field, taking the win by a straightaway.  Donovan Smith started eleventh and got to second, but could not catch Gifford.  Third went to Jerry Gifford, who came from starting in row six, Josh Daniels started beside the winner in row four, and finished fourth, and Corey Piffer was fifth.  This was Wayne Gifford’s first win of the year.

The next event at the Boone Speedway will be on Friday night, July 4 for the 8th Annual Eve of Destruction.  There will be rollover contests, trailer races, leap of death and much, much more. Grandstand opens at 6, and the events begin at 7:30.  The night will be capped off with a fireworks display sponsored by the city of Boone.  Saturday night, July 5, it will be back to another regular night of racing in all five divisions.  Hot laps are 6:45 and racing at 7:30.