Hupp scores back-to-back wins at Boone

Hupp scores back-to-back wins at Boone

July 10, 2010

It was another great night of racing at the Boone Speedway this past Saturday night with 131 cars checking into the pits. Along with the racing action, a little hoola hoop action was also seen in front of the grandstands with contestants trying their best to keep the hoop alive.

In the Dwarf/Mod Lite feature, Kevin Grisham led the pack through most of the feature event, but it would be that fateful last lap that would see Colby Oberembt make the pass for the win. Grisham was scored as the runner-up, third went to Tim Hennigar who had started back in 11th, fourth was Jeff Stensland, and fifth went to Angelo Montgomery,

The IMCA Northern SportMods had their usual nice field of cars on hand.  This race would also see a lead change in the final lap when Scott Davis was able to pass Randy Roberts and take the win, leaving Roberts having to settle for second. Third place went to David Schlicht, fourth to Jason Purvis, and fifth to Eric Elliott.

In the IMCA modified feature, the opening laps found Mike Molle and Joel Bushore dueling it out for the lead.  At the half-way mark of the 20-lap feature, Jimmy Gustin thrust his car to the front and into the lead past both Molle and Bushore.  Gustin stretched it out for a comfortable lead the remaining laps to take his second regular season feature win of the year at the Boone Speedway.  Joel Bushore was the runner-up as Cale Sponsler chased him across the line for third.  Taking fourth was Mike Molle and fifth was Jon Snyder.

A new face visited victory lane in the IMCA stock car division as Madrid, Iowa’s Cory Bushnell took his ride across the finish line first.  There was great racing action for the first five positions as cars challenged back and forth throughout most of the 18-lap feature.  Following Bushnell to checkers was Alan VanGorp to take second, third was Josh Brauckman, fourth went to Rod Richards and fifth to point leader Donovan Smith.

Closing out the night’s event was the A main for the IMCA Hobby Stock class. Several yellows would fly before this feature was completed.  When the checkered flag flew, it was Chris Hupp taking back-to-back wins at the track.  Randy Embrey showed great effort in taking second after starting near the tail.  Chasing Embrey to take third was Scott Lograsso, fourth was Michael Murphy and rounding out the top five was Mark Hidlebaugh.

Make plans to join us at the Boone Speedway next Saturday night, July 17 for another exciting night’s racing action with all divisions in competition.