Larson, Anderson, Sobbing win opening night qualifying features

Larson, Anderson, Sobbing win opening night qualifying features

Feature - Three Wide Qualifying

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 6) – A Hobby Stock driver from Minnesota will start from the pole in Saturday’s main event, while the defending IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals champion takes the green from the front of the middle row.

Dustin Larson of Rushmore, Minn., led all 20 laps in winning the first of two qualifying features for Hobby Stocks on opening night of the 28th annual Super Nationals at Boone Speedway. Shannon Anderson of Atlantic raced his way back into the front spot to top the second qualifier, which finished under caution.

The pole starter for Saturday’s main event for Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods made one of the biggest impressions in racing all the way from the 28th starting spot. Jesse Sobbing of Glenwood was in the lead before the race was half over and pulled away after a late restart.

Larson looked sharp in taking the first Hobby Stock qualifier, ahead of Robby Marsh. The rest of the top 10 finishers advancing to the inside row include Kevin Fee, Jason Wilkinson, Eric Stanton, John Yaw Sr., Matt Mahoney, Josh Irvine, Cody Gustoff and Jesse VanLaningham.

Anderson checked out early, then was docked two spots for jumping a restart. Undeterred, he got the lead back shortly after the next restart.

John Watson had chased Anderson into lapped traffic near the end of the contest when the caution came out. Checkered and yellow flags flew the next time around.

Lining up behind Anderson and Watson in the middle row will be Michael Murphy, 2000 champion Randy Embrey, Shawn Slezak, Richard Yaw II, Brandon Pruitt, Noah Ludwig, Scott Lograsso and Chad Gentz.

A plethora of cautions slowed the Northern SportMod main, but when the light stayed green Sobbing remained on a mission. A nifty move to the high side put him at the front; Scott Davis continued to challenge until a puff of smoke sent him rolling to the infield.

Sobbing will take Saturday’s green flag in front of early leader Brett Meyer, Tyler Frye, Nathan Chodur, Jared Timmerman, Clinton Luellen, Dennis Miesler, Austin Lucas, Austin Kaplan and Benji Legg.

Frye raced his way back to third after being caught up in one of the early mishaps. Chodur came from row 12, Timmerman from the back row.

The outside row of 10 qualify tonight for the Hobby Stock main event; the middle and outside rows of 10 will be determined for the Northern SportMods.

Also on the program at Boone is qualifying for the Arnold Motor Supply Race of Champions for Hobby Stocks.

1st Hobby Stock qualifier – 1. Dustin Larson, Rushmore, Minn.; 2. Robby Marsh, Belvidere, Neb.; 3. Kevin Fee, Knoxville; 4. Jason Wilkinson, Neligh, Neb.; 5. Eric Stanton, Hartford; 6. John Yaw Sr., Des Moines; 7. Matt Mahoney, Pierson; 8. Josh Irvine, Oelwein; 9. Cody Gustoff, Scranton; 10. Jesse VanLaningham, Beatrice, Neb.; 11. Todd Reitzler, Grinnell; 12. Brandon Brinton, Nevada; 13. Tyler Pickett, Boxholm; 14. Donald Gustoff, Scranton; 15. Darin Rothfus, Woodward; 16. Calvin Dhondt, Kellogg; 17. Cody Knecht, Whittemore; 18. Dustin Van Horn, Atlantic; 19. Jeremy Montgomery, Burleson, Texas; 20. Rob Allison, Des Moines; 21. Stac Schroeder, Clear Lake; 22. Adam Hensel, Atlantic; 23. Danny Watson, Des Moines; 24. Chad Shaw, Trimble, Mo.

2nd Hobby Stock qualifier – 1. Shannon Anderson, Atlantic; 2. John Watson, Des Moines; 3. Michael Murphy, Jefferson; 4. Randy Embrey, Granger; 5. Shawn Slezak, Milligan, Neb.; 6. Richard Yaw II, Pleasant Hill; 7. Brandon Pruitt, Dexter; 8. Noah Ludwig, Logan; 9. Scott Lograsso, Nevada; 10. Chad Gentz, Forest City; 11. Carl Knight, Waukee; 12. Tony Cox, Boone; 13. Dustin Filloon, Toledo; 14. Kyle Robinson, Cherokee; 15. Nicholas Warnke, Fairbury, Neb.; 16. Pat Cross, Nemaha; 17. Jason Kohl, Missouri Valley; 18. Matt Brown, Dysart; 19. Phillip Castellano, Norwalk; 20. Brock Beeter, Minot, N.D.; 21. Andy Boeckman, Lake View; 22. Devin Smith, Lake City; 23. Randall Macku, Lincoln, Neb.; 24. Merle Bass, Varina.

SportMod qualifier – 1. Jesse Sobbing, Glenwood; 2. Brett Meyer, Lytton; 3. Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; 4. Nathan Chodur, Lake Mills; 5. Jared Timmerman, Norwalk; 6. Clinton Luellen, Minburn; 7. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg, Wis.; 8. Austin Lucas, Cedar Rapids; 9. Austin Kaplan, Ankeny; 10. Benji Legg, Beatrice, Neb.; 11. Randy Roberts, Boone; 12. Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano, Wis; 13. Steve Reetz, Arcadia; 14. Cody Hennings, Boone; 15. R.J. Merchant, Sioux City; 16. Jeremy Embrey, Granger; 17. Scott Davis, Boone; 18. Bill Wears, Des Moines; 19. Jason Purvis, Boone; 20. Ken Kositzky, Cedar Rapids; 21. Danny Dvorak, Vinton; 22. Kurt Moeding, Manly; 23. Colton Osborn, Cozad, Neb.; 24. Bill Gibson, Knoxville; 25. Tad Reutzel, Burt; 26. Mike Shelton, Bloomfield; 27. Jeff Blume, Roland; 28. Kyle Brown, Kellogg; 29. Eric Flander, Barnes City; 30. Tyler Gross, Bondurant.