Masolini and Wirtz score first wins at Boone

Masolini and Wirtz score first wins at Boone

July 15, 2017

It was another action packed night of racing on Saturday night at the Boone Speedway.  A nice field of 121 race cars checked into the pits and two drivers would finally get their first wins at the speedway.  Two drivers made it two in a row, and another scored for the fourth time in as many weeks.

Randy Bryan was one of those drivers making it two in a row as he took the checkers in the Mod Lite feature.  Bryan Zehm started tenth, and finished as the runner up, Kevin Grisham was third, Joel Keenan started fourteenth, and finished fourth, and Justin Rankin worked his way back through the pack from an early race incident that sent him to realign at the tail of the field,  to finish fifth.   Bryan led all fifteen laps on his way to the win.

Up next was the IMCA Northern SportMod 18-lap A main.  Dusty Masolini jumped to the immediate lead from his fourth starting spot.  From there on, he kept that top spot, all the way to the checkers.  He finished a comfortable distance ahead of second place Brian Efkamp.  Johnathon Logue finished third from starting twelfth, Jason Purvis was fourth and Daniel Tasler, fifth.  Masolini scored his first ever SportMod win at Boone, after switching from the Mod Lite class a few years back.

Joel Bushore started sixth in the 20 lap IMCA Modified feature, and took the lead just before the halfway mark of the event.  He then put a comfortable distance between himself and the field, and swept to the easy win.  Finishing a distance behind in second place was Tyler Prochaska.  Russ Dickerson had a nice run, coming from row six, to finish third, and Chris Webb and Cory Sauerman were fourth and fifth.  This was Bushore’s fourth win at Boone this season.

Donavon Smith went back to victory lane for the second week in a row, winning the 18 lap IMCA Stock Car main event.  He started tenth, and caught up to then leader Matt West by lap eight.  Robert Stofer threw his hat into the ring as well, and the three went to battle.  Smith made the move around West a couple of laps later to take over the lead.  He would then hold that top spot to capture the win.  West held on to second, finishing just ahead of third place Robert Stofer.  Point leader, Jay Schmidt started eleventh, and finished fourth. and Josh Daniels completed the top five.  Smith claimed his third win of the season.

The IMCA RaceSaver Sprints saw Tyler Thompson back in the winner’s circle for the fourth consecutive week.  Thompson started seventh in the 20 lap feature, and was leading by the time lap two was scored.  He lead all the remaining laps and scored the win by a healthy margin.  Michael Moore finished as the runner up after starting ninth, tenth place starter Ben Woods was third, Joel Thorpe took fourth, and Bob Hildreth rounded out the top five. Thompson now has five wins at the track.

The evening’s racing concluded with the IMCA 12 lap Hobby Stock feature.  Shaun Wirtz would lead this one from flag to flag to take the win.  Aaron Rudolph attempted to reel in leader Wirtz, but ran out of laps and had to settle for second place.  Point leader Ryan Wells came from twelfth starting spot, to finish third, Jack Phillips was fourth and Eric Stanton started fourteenth, and finished fifth.  Wirtz, a long time racer at the track, scored his first ever win at the speedway.

Regular points racing continues next Saturday night, July 22, with racing in all six divisions.  Hot laps are 6:30 and racing at 7:30.