McBirnie Scores IMCA SportMod Win, Watson Stays Nearly Perfect in Hobby Stocks

McBirnie Scores IMCA SportMod Win, Watson Stays Nearly Perfect in Hobby Stocks

Joe McBirnie Returned to Victory Lane Saturday, June 16

June 16, 2012

Racing action continued at the Boone Speedway Saturday night, as rain in the area missed the track once again.  Three new feature winners were crowned, one driver scored for the second time this year, and another continues his near perfect record.  It was also Little League night too. Players and coaches enjoyed a free night at the races and also got to play a little ball during the farming session.

The Mod Lite feature got off to a bad start when Brad Melton rolled his ride between turns three and four, bringing out a red flag before a lap was scored. Melton was not hurt. Bryan Zehm led through lap five of the 15-lap race. That’s when Mike Morrill took advantage of a restart and snagged the lead. From there on, Morrill had it clear sailing to the checkers. Morrill took his second win of the 2012 season. Bryan Zehm finished in the runner up spot ahead of Jeff Stensland in third, Mike Kennedy in fourth and Josh May in fifth.

In the IMCA Northern SportMod main, it was Joe McBirnie, a driver who has been absent from the racing scene for a few years, getting back to his winning ways. The early portion of the race was plagued with yellow flags but McBirnie did not seem at all bothered by them, and maintained his lead the entire 18 laps.  Darren Huntley finished a distant second, barely beating Clint Luellen in third. Fourth went to Nick Roberts and Scott Davis rounded out the top five.

Jake Durbin put his ride in victory lane in the IMCA Modified class for the first time at Boone this year. Durbin won in convincing fashion, as he pulled away from the field.  Jon Snyder made the pass on Randy Havlik as they finished second and third respectively. Jimmy Gustin finished in fourth after starting eleventh and Todd Shute made it to fifth from starting in row five.

The IMCA Stock Cars ran their usual 18-lap feature. This one too found a new winner for the year as Trent Murphy took the win.  This one wasn’t an easy win however, as Murphy rode along in third much of the race, attempting to catch leader Lonnie Hodges and Cory Bushnell, who had won the previous two weeks.  Murphy put his ride topside, and made the pass on Bushnell to take over second as the laps wound down.  Murphy was then able to run down Hodges, making the pass on the last lap to take the win.  Hodges had to settle for second on this night after leading all but the final lap, Bushnell finished third, fourth was Eric Brown and fifth went to Donavon Smith.

As always, the night was polished off with the IMCA Hobby Stock feature.  The driver out of Des Moines, John Watson did it again, winning his seventh straight feature, his eighth of the regular season, and just one tick off of perfect for the season having finished second one week.  He also won the Frostbuster in addition to those regular season point races.  Watson started twelfth and led by lap two.   A good battle ensued behind Watson as Curt Reed, Jacob Thompson and Austin Luellen fought it out.  Reed won that battle as he took second.  Leuellen fought past Thompson as they finished third and fourth in that order and Matt McDonald scored a fifth place finish.

Next Saturday night, June 23, will be another night of racing action in all five divisions.  Hot laps are 6:45, racing at 7:30.