Reimers claims first career feature win

Reimers claims first career feature win

May 25, 2019

After last week’s wash out, the Boone Speedway sprang back to life on Saturday night in a big way, with 172 race cars packing the pits.  In addition to those regular classes, the two-person cruisers and the UTV side by sides were also on the program for a full night of racing entertainment.  Joel Rust took his first IMCA Modified victory of the 2019 season. In the Stock Cars it was David Smith with the win. Cam Reimers scored his first career feature win in the IMCA Northern SportMod division. Daniel Smith nabbed the IMCA Hobby Stock trophy. Tyler Thompson went to victory lane in the RaceSaver Sprint class, and Joe Glick scored his second win in the MADCRA Mod Lites.  Donny Mason and Junior Worley took the Cruiser feature, and the side by side UTV main event went to Greg Hayes.

Joe Glick returned to the winner’s circle in capturing his second feature of the season in the My Race Pass ModLites. Glick led from the drop of the green flag to the checkers in the 15-lap A main.  Runner up Tanner Gannon chased Glick the entire distance.  Third place went to Randy Bryan, Joel Huggins was fourth, and Bryan Zehm completed the top five.  The race went green to checkers.

The 18-lap Elmquist Towing IMCA Northern SportMod found Cam Reimers scoring his first career win in the division.  Reimers, a champion off-road truck racer, grabbed the immediate lead, only to have two consecutive yellows on lap two pause the action.  It was no hindrance to the Ogden, Iowa driver however, as he motored off from the field in a race that then continued without stoppage.  Reimers scored the win, finishing well ahead of sixth place starter Austin Schrage.  Third place went to Johnathon Logue, fourth to tenth place starter Tony Olson, and Doug Smith started twelfth, and rounded out the top five.

Up next was the 20-lap Snap-on Tools IMCA Modified feature.  Pole sitter Eric Elliott held the lead through the first twelve circuits of the race, until Joel Rust made the topside work and took over the lead on lap thirteen.  As the laps wound down, Jimmy Gustin powered his way from tenth starting spot into the runner up position and began applying pressure to the leader.  Gustin briefly nabbed the lead with a lap remaining, only to have Rust return the favor on the backstretch with the checkers awaiting.  Rust scored the win, with Gustin a close second.  Mike VanGenderen started eighth, ran at the front of the field much of the race, and came home in third place.  Fourth went to eleventh place starter, Ricky Thornton, Jr., and Tim Ward took fifth.

The Arnold Motor Supply IMCA Stock cars ran an 18-lap A main with much of the race being a battle between brothers David and Devin Smith.  On this night, it was David Smith going to Victory Lane and scoring his first win at the speedway this year.  Jay Schmidt powered by Devin Smith in the final moments as they finished second and third respectively.  Calvin Lange was fourth and Scott Davis completed the top five.

The K1 Race Gear IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars ran a 20-lap feature.  Close racing for the lead at lap eight, found two cars tangled in turn four when Val Urman and Mike Moore came to rest.  This put Tyler Thompson in the captain’s seat when the race restarted, and he would lead the rest of the way to the checkers.  Mike Houseman finished second, third went to brother C. J. Houseman, Cade Higday was fourth, and Joel Thorpe finished in fifth.

Daniel Smith started seventh, and took command at lap six on his way to victory in the Pickett Salvage IMCA Hobby Stock 15-lap event.  He finished comfortably ahead of second place Aaron Rudolph.  Eric Knutson came from ninth starting spot to finish third, John Watson took fourth from starting eleventh, and Rusty Gyles was fifth.  This was Daniel Smith’s second feature win of the season.

Racing continues next Saturday night, June 1 with racing in all divisions.  It will be a Super Saturday with $1,000 to win for the IMCA Modifieds, and $750 for the Northern SportMods.  Hot laps are 5:45, with racing at 6:30, which will remain until further notice.