Roberts By Inches in Modified thriller, Goldsberry, Pestotnik, Smith, Bryan, and Haggard also find checkers

Roberts By Inches in Modified thriller, Goldsberry, Pestotnik, Smith, Bryan, and Haggard also find checkers

May 21, 2022

The Boone Speedway saw another Saturday night of fast paced racing action on a chilly night in May.  The IMCA Modified feature saw Nick Roberts take the win by mere inches.  Anthony Goldsberry made a last lap pass to take the IMCA Stock Car win.  It was Cory Pestotnik in the IMCA Northern SportMods, and Mike Smith got his second win of the season in the IMCA Hobby Stocks.  Randy Bryan won the STARS Mod Lite feature, and Kamdyn Haggard won in the visiting Outlaw Mini Mods.  The Cruisers were in action for the first time this year as well, and it was the duo of Max Allen and Andrew Miller taking that win.

The STARS Mod Lites ran their 15 lap feature first, and it was Randy Bryan getting his first trip to victory lane this year.  Joel Huggins chased Bryan much of the race, but had to settle for second place.  Third went to Steven Kennedy, Austin Gray was fourth, and Joe Glick took fifth.

It was Cory Pestotnik with the win in the Friesen Performance IMCA Northern SportMod 20 lap event.  He led much of the race to finish comfortably ahead of second place Ryan Leeman.  Taylor Kuehl was third, Dusty Masolini came from twenty-first to finish fourth, and Jake Sachau was fifth after starting twelfth.

It was a thrilling finish to the IMCA Friesen Performance Modified 20 lap affair.  Jeremy Mills started sixth and had the lead by lap three.  By lap five, he had company in Mike VanGenderen, Joel Bushore, and Jimmy Gustin.  At lap nine, Gustin was off power and out of the game, but by this time Nick Roberts was joining in the fun.  At lap twelve, a yellow flew and Roberts was eager for the restart as he had made his way to run in second place.  Lap thirteen he got the job done, and took over the top spot.  Mills never went away, but a last ditch effort fell just short at the line, as Roberts took the win by inches.  Third was Joel Bushore, Mike VanGenderen was fourth, and coming out of seemingly no where after starting twenty-second, was Hebron, Illinois driver, Dustin Kroening.

The visiting Outlaw Mini Mods had their scheduled 15 lap race end on lap thirteen when the time limit expired. The win went to Kamdyn Haggard, who had led most of the yellow plagued race.  Glenville, Minnesota’s Nathan Kilwine was second, Matthew Grobe took third, Dalton Faber was fourth, and Gage Hilgenberg rounded out the top five.

The Class too Tough to Tame, the Sunoco IMCA Stock Cars made it an exciting 20 lap feature finish as well.  Kyle Everts held down the number one spot from lap two, with Anthony Goldsberry in tow.  The two ran one-two for the race until the final lap when Goldsberry was able to nose under Everts when he just missed his mark, and beat him to the finish line first to score the win.  Everts had to settle for second place.  Scott Davis started tenth and took third, Mike Goldsberry was fourth, and Donavon Smith came from fifteenth to finish fifth.

The Sunoco IMCA Hobby Stocks ran fifteen laps for their A Main.  Mike Smith led this one from start to finish to take his second win of the season, after also winning the Frostbuster.  He was never challenged on his run to the checkers.  Skylar Pruitt took the runner up spot, third went to Seth Butler, Solomon Bennett was fourth, and Rusty Bates completed the top five.

Regular Saturday night series racing continues on May 28, with racing in the IMCA Modifieds, Stock Cars, Northern SportMods, Hobby Stocks, and STARS Mod Lites.  Hot laps are 5, with racing at 6.