Roberts collects first Modified win

Roberts collects first Modified win

June 16, 2018

It was Woodruff Construction night at the Boone Speedway Saturday evening, with racing in all six regular divisions and the added Adrenaline Kart Series on exhibition.  The regular classes had only one new face gracing victory lane while the other five divisions saw repeat winners.

The Mod Lites kicked off the regular feature racing with their 15-lap main event.  Charlie Brown led the field to green from his pole starting position and held tight to it until lap thirteen. That’s when Bryan Zehm, who had started seventh and chased the leader from the early onset of the race, was finally able to make the pass for the lead.  From there on out, the race was Zehm’s as he took the flying checkers and the victory.  Randy Bryan finished as the runner up after starting in ninth, third was Joe Glick who had run at the front of the field the entire race, as had fourth place, Jonathan  Braathun.  Last week’s winner Mike Kennedy rounded out the top five.  This was Zehm’s fourth win at Boone this season.

Next up was 18-laps of IMCA Northern SportMod feature racing.  Doug Smith immediately took the lead from his fourth place starting spot, and then motored away.  A yellow at lap twelve bunched up the field for the restart and no one was happier to see it than Austin Luellen, the driver sitting in second spot.  When the race returned to green, Luellen was able to get the momentum around the top of turn two, and took over the top position.  Luellen maintained that lead but company behind him was not going away.  The final two circuits saw a huge push to the front by Jake McBirnie who after getting into second place, made a last dive in turn four coming to the checkers, to snatch the win. Luellen had to be content with the runner up spot, Smith held third place, Johnathon Logue came from sixteenth starting spot to take fourth and Chase Rudolf was fifth.  This was McBirnie’s second feature win of the year.

Mike Moore had to hold off Tyler Thompson in the closing laps of the 20-lap IMCA RaceSaver Sprint A main.  Moore had led the race from lap two but it nearly disappeared when Tyler Thompson gave it his all in the closing moments as they raced to the checkers, only to have it fall just short, and Moore held on for the win.  Matt Richards from Lincoln, Nebraska made the haul over and went away with a third place finish.  Last week’s winner Mike Houseman finished in fourth, and Frank Rodgers was fifth.  Moore now has three wins on the season.

Jeff Mueller took his third win of the year in the IMCA Stock Car class.  Mueller got to the lead with just a handful of laps down in the the 18-lap event, and from there on, pulled away to a decisive victory.  There was a gaggle of cars a good distance behind him, with Donavon Smith in second, Wayne Gifford a close third, followed by Calvin Lange and Rod Richards in fourth and fifth respectively.

The 20-lap IMCA Modified feature found the distinct sound of Joel Bushore’s 6 cylinder car out in front of the field of cars.  Bushore buzzed along happily until Nick Roberts made his appearance and was up to make a challenge for the lead.  Roberts was able to take command at lap fifteen after pestering Bushore for several laps, and then held that lead to the double checkers and the win.  Tim Ward made a fine run through the field from his eleventh starting spot to finish as the runner up, Bushore fell back a bit and finished in third, Tony Cox was fourth and Brandon Leehman completed the top five. This was Nick Roberts’ first visit to victory lane in 2018.

John Watson went back to the winner’s circle in the night cap 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stock division.  Watson fought by Rusty Gyles in the final laps to take home yet another win at the Boone Speedway.  Gyles held on to the runner up spot, just holding off the last three week’s winner, Andrew Burg.  Aaron Rudolph and Eric Knutson rounded out the top five.  Watson scored his second win of the year.

The Adrenaline Series Karts showcased two divisions, the Cadets and the Junior 1 classes.  These youngsters are the future of the sport.  The Cadet feature went to Kaden Rice and Izac Mallicoat won the Junior 1 division.

Weekly racing continues next Saturday night, June 23 at the Boone Speedway with racing in all six divisions.  Hot laps are 5:45 and racing at 6:30.