Rookie Larson, veteran Anderson are winners of Stock Car qualifying features

Rookie Larson, veteran Anderson are winners of Stock Car qualifying features

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 8) – A rookie and one of the most accomplished drivers in division history took their turns in victory lane following equally impressive Stock Car feature wins Thursday dur­ing the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Cenex.

Rookie Dustin Larson topped the first 20-lapper at Boone Speedway while two-time Super Nation­als champion and five-time national king Jeff Anderson dominated the second show. They square off in a three-lap dash Friday to determine which starts at the front of the inside row in Saturday’s main event.

Brandon Czarapata, Nathan Burke, Tom Suess and Roger Verdoorn rounded out the top five in the first qualifier while Jeffrey Larson – Dustin’s older brother – Damon Murty, Larry Portis and 2009 runner-up Chad Estes chased Anderson across the stripe. They’ll draw for their starting spots in the big show tomorrow night.

Dustin Larson drew the pole for his feature and kept Brandon Czarapata and Steve Meyer in check after three quick cautions. Meyer came up lame on lap seven and was replaced in the chase by Burke, who’d worked his way up from the 15th starting spot.

The final caution came with three laps left. Larson kept his iron grip on the lead while Verdoorn bested Kenneth Tietz and 22nd starting Jesse Colwell in the battle for fifth.

“We’ve had a pretty good season but I was just hoping to qualify for the main event,” admitted Larson, the national and Probe Industries Northern Region rookie point leader. “I was nervous before the race started. There were a lot of really good drivers behind me.”

Larson started on the pole and finished second in the Hobby Stock main event at Boone last year. He’d had to make repairs to the front end of his ride after a tangle in the first qualifier Wednesday.

Anderson had a formidable field of his own to deal with and led every lap after starting from the pole. The only caution came on lap seven and wiped out what was already a sizable advantage, but Anderson got up to speed in a hurry and had a lapped car ahead of Jeffrey Larson by the 13th circuit.

While the top four positions were secure, Estes couldn’t crack the top five until lap 17.

“There’s nothing like coming to Boone and winning a race. It’s the ultimate feeling,” said Ander­son, the 1995 and 1999 Super Nationals champion. I’ve been thinking about retiring the last cou­ple years but I still think I can drive if I can get the car the way I want it to be. It took about 30 starts this year for us to be able to do that.”

Dustin Larson, Suess and Verdoorn will all make their first appearances in the Stock Car main even while Jeffrey Larson is in for the third straight year.

Estes makes his sixth appearance, Czarapata, Murty and Portis each their seventh, Burke his eighth and Anderson his ninth.

The outside row of 10 in the main will qualify on Friday.

1st qualifying feature – 1. Dustin Larson, Rushmore, Minn.; 2. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton, Wis.; 3. Nathan Burke, Minot, N.D.; 4. Tom Suess, New Ulm, Minn.; 5. Roger Verdoorn, Sibley; 6. Ken­neth Tietz, Belle Plaine, Minn.; 7. Jesse Colwell, Wrightstown, Wis.; 8. Todd Reitzler, Grin­nell; 9. Kevin Opheim, Mason City; 10. Mark Haglund, Webster City; 11. Kevin Rose, Waterloo; 12. Laura Curry, LuVerne; 13. John Mahlberg, Hilbert, Wis.; 14. Austin Carter, New Cambria, Kan.; 15. John Heinz, Green Bay, Wis.; 16. Ned Kalis, Wells, Minn.; 17. Steve Campbell, Des Moines;18. Jason Ward, Sioux City; 19. Steve Meyer, Grundy Center; 20. Jake Masters, Graettinger; 21. Derek Green, Granada, Minn.; 22. Robby Rosselli, Minot, N.D.; 23. Jason Batt, Harker Heights, Texas; 24. Robert Stofer, Jefferson.

2nd qualifying feature – 1. Jeff Anderson, Atlantic; 2. Jeffrey Larson, Lakefield, Minn.; 3. Damon Murty, Chelsea; 4. Larry Portis, Nora Springs; 5. Chad Estes, Troy, Texas; 6. Jamie Colwell, Kaukauna, Wis.; 7. Kyle Vanover, Beatrice, Neb.; 8. Tom Killen, Des Moines; 9. Norman Chesmore, Rowley; 10. Wyatt Olson, Des Lacs, N.D.; 11. Ryan Rose, Boone; 12. Keith White, Little River Academy, Texas; 13. Marcus Fagan, Adair; 14. Cory Dumpert, York, Neb.; 15. Ken­neth Hansen, Audubon; 16. Dave Moriaty, Jordan, Minn.; 17. Jeff McCollum, Mankato, Minn.;18. Jeff Turner, Kaufman, Texas; 19. Kevin Flock, Muskogee, Okla.; 20. Jerry Gifford, Boone; 21. Aaron Brocksieck, Camp Point, Ill.; 22. Jesse Olson, Mayer, Minn.; 23. Lance Deal, Fort Dodge; 24. J.C. Howell Jr., Mabank, Texas.