Rookie races to front row start in SportMod main event 

Rookie races to front row start in SportMod main event 

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 2) – Jake McBirnie raced to a rare achievement for a rookie driver Tuesday night, earning a front row start in an IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s main event. 

McBirnie topped the second of two SportMod qualifiers at Boone Speedway. The national rookie of the year contender will take the green from the front of the outside row on Saturday.

Lining up behind him will be Jake Simpson, defending champion Carter VanDenBerg, Shawn Harker, Jared Van Deest, George Nordman, Alex Zwanziger and Brian Miller. 

Miller had started 18th, Van Deest 24th. Doug Smith was disqualified from fifth after failing post-race suspension inspection. 

Miller qualified for the fifth time, Van DenBerg for the second. Simpson, Harker, VanDeest, Nordman and Zwanziger join McBirnie as first-time qualifiers.

Last-chance qualifying on Wednesday will complete the main event starting field of 30.

Feature results – 1. Jake McBirnie, Boone; 2. Jake Simpson, Algona; 3. Carter VanDenBerg, Oskaloosa; 4. Shawn Harker, Nebraska City, Neb.; 5. Jared VanDeest, Holland; 6. George Nordman, Mason City; 7. Alex Zwanzinger, Nashua; 8. Brian Miller, Grand Junction; 9. Lynn Brockett, Ogden; 10. Kurtis Pihl, Lindsborg, Kan.; 11. Matt Frederickson, Aurelia; 12. Darin Roepke, LeMars; 13. Dylan Petersen, Harlan; 14. Sean Manning, Firth, Neb.; 15. Austin Schrage, Cresco; 16. Sam Wieben, Dysart; 17. Lukas Onstot, Norwalk; 18. Anthony Onstot, Norwalk; 19. Shawn Albers, Wellsburg; 20. Danny Roe, Turlock, Calif.; 21. Chet Ragan, Eagle Lake, Minn.; 22. Tony Rialson, Cottonwood, Minn.; 23. Michael Murphy, Jefferson; 24. Todd Inman, Altoona; 25. Tara Longnecker, Woodward; 26. Matt Northrop, Stanhope; 27. Cameron Vande Weerd, Alton; 28. Troy Douglas, North Platte, Neb.; 29. Lucas Lamberies, Clintonville, Wis.; 30. Doug Smith, Lanesboro.