Sobbing scores Northern SportMod victory

Sobbing scores Northern SportMod victory

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 7) – The inside line took Jesse Sobbing to the front of the outside row for Saturday’s Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main event at Boone Speedway.

Sobbing scored the last-chance qualifying feature win Wednesday at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Cenex, taking the checkers ahead of Jeremy Embrey and Bryan LaRiviere.

They’ll be joined in the big show by Cody Hennings, Nick Roberts, Doug Smith, Jeremy Leiting, Leon Mulder, Rob Charapata and Jim Buhlman.

Embrey and Buhlman are now three-time main event qualifiers, Sobbing and Smith are both in the big show for the second time while Leiting, LaRiviere, Mulder, Hennings, Charapata and Roberts are first-timers.

The top 31 drivers, based on points earned Monday and Tuesday, not already qualified vied in the last-chance race.

Last-chance qualifier – 1. Jesse Sobbing, Glenwood; 2. Jeremy Embrey, Madrid; 3. Bryan LaRiviere, Wichita, Kan.; 4. Cody Hennings, Boone; 5. Nick Roberts, Des Moines; 6. Doug Smith, Lake City; 7. Jeremy Leiting, Valparaiso, Neb.; 8. Leon Mulder, Doon; 9. Rob Charapata, Oconto, Wis.; 10. Jim Buhlman, Cedar Falls; 11. Mike Pruitt, Redfield; 12. Casey Greubel, Lacona; 13. Cory Rose, Boone; 14. Matt Pittman, Jefferson; 15. Clinton Luellen, Minburn; 16. Nick Lakes, Sergeant Bluff; 17. Colton Osborn, Lexington, Neb.; 18. Jeremy Chambers, Parsons, Kan.; 19. Tim Zeman, Muscatine; 20. Danny Dvorak, Vinton; 21. Randy Roberts, Boone; 22. Tyler Frye, Belleville, Kan.; 23. Josh Rice, Minneapolis, Kan.; 24. Kyle Brown, Kellogg; 25. Jason Doyle, Cedar Rapids; 26. Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano, Wis.; 27. Dan Tenold, Northwood; 28. Jared Timmerman, Norwalk; 29. Carter Vandenberg, Oskaloosa; 30. Andy Tiernan, Woodward; 31. Doug Cook, Algona.