Springsteen the boss in Deery feature

Springsteen the boss in Deery feature

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 5) – A night with many firsts ended with Colby Springsteen in victory lane Monday at Boone Speedway.

Springsteen led the last 10 laps in winning the Deery Brothers Summer Series feature, on opening night of the IMCASpeedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Cenex.

The $2,000 victory was Springsteen’s IMCA Late Model tour career first. He’d started third, dropped back as far as eighth, then took charge after race-long leader Justin Reed came up lame and second-running Terry Neal exited on a lap 41 caution.

“This is the first full year we’ve followed the series. I never thought we’d be able to come and win the first time in this event,” Springsteen admitted. “It’s awesome.”

Kevin Sather chased Springsteen to the checkers and pole starter Dale Hackwell Jr. was third. Darrell DeFrance scored hard charger honors in the 23rd Super Nationals appearance of his career, advancing a dozen spots to round out the top four.

Andy Eckrich was fifth and now trails Ray Guss Jr. by three points in the race for the silver anniversary series championship.

The two-time defending Super Nationals champion, Guss qualified for the main event by winning his “B” and moved up nine places to eighth.

Reed started outside the front row and checked out on the field from the initial green, leading by a full straightaway just seven laps into the 50-lapper.

Hackwell, then McKenna gave chase but were hardly in the same time zone before the first caution, just before midway, erased Reed’s huge lead.

Reed continued to run in front while Sather and Neal worked their way to second and third, respectively. Springsteen was in the right place at the right time to capitalize on the restart that followed Reed’s mechanical misfortune and Neal’s exit.

“I was running fourth when I started thinking I’d try the bottom and then got passed by about five cars,” Springsteen said. “I thought the bottom was the way to go, like it was in the heat races, but it was a lot faster on top.”

McKenna won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.

The next stop for the series is this Friday, Sept. 9 at Davenport Speedway’s All-Star Classic. Pit gates open at 4 p.m., the grandstand opens at 5:30 p.m., hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing on the half-mile oval starts at 7 p.m.

Feature results –

1. Colby Springsteen, Morning Sun;

2. Kevin Sather, Ankeny;

3. Dale Hackwell, Jr., Washburn;

4. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown;

5. Andy Eckrich, Iowa City;

6. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake;

7. Ryan Griffith, Webster City;

8. Ray Guss, Jr., Milan, Ill.;

9. Todd Cooney, Des Moines;

10. Ryan Giles, West Des Moines;

11. Chad Cooney, Des Moines;

12. Luke Goedert, Guttenberg;

13. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, Ill.;

14. Al Johnson, Story City;

15. Tyler Bruening, Decorah;

16. Justin Reed, Collinsville, Ill.;

17. Terry Neal, Ely;

18. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis, Ill.;

19. Mike Garland, Morrison, Ill.;

20. T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa;

21. Jason Hahne, Webster City;

22. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls;

23. Tysus Pattee, Vinton;

24. Richie Gustin, Gilman.

1st heat (top three) – 1. Beuseling; 2. Hackwell; 3. Todd Cooney; 4. Giles; 5. Joel Brasch, Waterloo; 6. Dave Hubbard, Moorland; 7. Jon Passick, Waterloo; 8. Clint Wendel, Mason City.

2nd heat – 1. McKenna; 2. Hahne; 3. Neal; 4. Aikey; 5. Gustin; 6. Kevin Pittman, Waterloo; 7. Greg Cox, Altoona; 8. Craig Jacobs, Des Moines.

3rd heat – 1. Griffith; 2. Reed; 3. Pattee; 4. DeFrance; 5. Bruening; 6. Josh Most, Red Oak; 7. Paul Glendenning, Mount Ayr; 8. Scott Badker, Garner.

4th heat – 1. Sather; 2. Eckrich; 3. Al Johnson; 4. Guss; 5. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove; 6. Dain Sires, Cedar Falls; 7. Chad Cooney, Des Moines.

5th heat – 1. Goedert; 2. Springsteen; 3. Criss; 4. Kyle Wahlert, Des Moines; 5. Garland; 6. Malmstrom; 7. Drew Johnson, Belle Plaine.

1st “B” feature (top three) – 1. DeFrance; 2. Giles; 3. Gustin; 4. Zrostlik; 5. Wahlert; 6. Chad Cooney; 7. Wendel; 8. Cox; 9. Malmstrom; 10. Hubbard; 11. Most; 12. Jacobs.

2nd “B” feature – 1. Guss; 2. Aikey; 3. Bruening; 4. Garland; 5. Passick; 6. Pittman; 7. Brasch; 8. Sires; 9. Badker; 10. Glendenning; 11. Drew Johnson.

Hard charger start – Chad Cooney. Provisionals – Garland and Malmstrom.