Stone, Jergens to decide pole for Super Nationals Modified main event 

Stone, Jergens to decide pole for Super Nationals Modified main event 

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 3) – Californian Paul Stone or home state driver Mike Jergens Mike-Jergenswill start on the pole when the biggest event in dirt track racing goes green Saturday night at Boone Speed­way.

Stone ran second the last 19 laps of Wednesday’s first IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s Modified qualifying feature, then was promoted to the top spot when Adam Lar­son failed to meet frame specifications in post-race tech.

Jergens had tracked down and race-long leader Kyle Strickler in lapped traffic with a couple cir­cuits to go in the second qualifier. Strickler became a DQ from the runner-up spot for use of unapproved wheels; Chase Allen crossed the line in third and also failed post-race tech for failing to meet frame specs.

Stone and Jergens will duke it out in a game of roshambo, in the fan zone south of the main grand­stand, on Thursday to determine who gets the coveted pole position in Saturday night’s main event.

They’ll be joined on the inside row by top three finishers Aaron Turnbull, 2011 champion Richie Gustin and Jay Noteboom from the first qualifier and Johnny Saathoff, Troy Jerovetz and Josh Most from the second.

Gustin had started 13th and Noteboom 15th in the first qualifier. Jergens took the initial green from 13th, Jerovetz from 16th, Most from 28th and Saathoff from dead last in the 30-car second qualify­ing field.

Saathoff made the big dance for the 14th time in his career, Noteboom for the ninth and Gustin for the fourth.

Stone, Jergens, Turnbull and Most all are second-time main event qualifiers while Jerovetz is in the big show for the first time.

1st qualifying feature – 1. Paul Stone, Winton, Calif.; 2. Aaron Turnbull, Estevan, Sask.; 3. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 4. Jay Noteboom, Hinton; 5. Brad Pounds, Bakersfield, Calif.; 6. Clint Hat­lestad, Glencoe, Minn.; 7. Bill Davis, Jr., Des Moines; 8. Jay Steffens, North Platte, Neb.; 9. Russ Dickerson, Boone; 10. Scott Davis, Boone; 11. Chad Porter, Madison Lake, Minn.; 12. Joel Bushore, Boone; 13. Chris Abelson, Sioux City; 14. Darin Duffy, Urbana; 15. Ricky Thornton, Chan­dler, Ariz.; 16. Tony Hilgenberg, Waukee; 17. Dustin Smith, Lake City; 18. Michael Al­bertsen, Audubon; 19. J.D. Auringer, Waterloo; 20. Mike Weikert Jr., Muscatine; 21. Randy Wil­son, Wichita, Kan.; 22. Trent Loverude, New Ulm, Minn.; 23. Brian Schmitt, Wall Lake; 24. Josh Truman, Indianola; 25. Tyler Heetland, Bancroft; 26. Eric Dailey, Armstrong; 27. Ryan Ruter, Kana­wha; 28. Brandon Blochlinger, Concordia, Kan.; 29. Jeff Taylor, Cave City, Ark.; 30. Adam Larson, Ankeny.

2nd qualifying feature –  1. Mike Jergens, Plover; 2. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb.; 3. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay, Wis.; 4. Josh Most, Red Oak; 5. Kyle Brown, State Center; 6. Sean Jerovetz, Sobieski, Wis.; 7. Danny Holt, Topeka, Kan.; 8. Jeremy Kuykendall, Little Rock, Ark.; 9. Drew Armstrong, Alexander, Ark.; 10. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 11. Jason Murray, Hartford; 12. Jus­tin O’Brien, West Union; 13. J.J. Scott, Iowa City; 14. Tony Snyder, Readlyn; 15. Josh Sherbon, Cedar Falls; 16. Wayne Johnson, Minot, N.D.; 17. Travis Dickes, Madison, Neb.; 18. Stacey Mills, Webb; 19. Mike Hagen, Williston, N.D.; 20. Jay Goosmann, Merrill; 21. Jeff Dolphin, Britt; 22. Russ Reinwald, Juneau, Wis.; 23. Greg Gretz, Athelstane, Wis.; 24. Robert Avery, Des Moines; 25. Keith White, Little River Academy, Texas; 26. Jim Peeler, Milan, Mo.; 27. Austin Lucas, Chero­kee; 28. J.P. Dowell, Killeen, Texas; 29. Kyle Strickler, Mooresville, N.C.; 30. Chase Allen, Midlothian, Texas.