VanGenderen captures Modified win at Boone

VanGenderen captures Modified win at Boone


It was night #2 of weekly points racing at the Boone Speedway on Saturday.  Close racing, and exciting finishes gave the fans their money’s worth.

In the IMCA Modified division, Mike VanGenderen took the win from his eighth place starting position.  He ran down Josh Truman after

Mike VanGenderen

Mike VanGenderen took the IMCA Modified win from his eighth place starting position at Boone Speedway on Saturday, April 23, 2016.

several laps of tormenting him, high and then low, and finally taking command at lap ten.  Truman kept VanGenderen within striking distance, but to no avail, and had to settle for the runner up spot.  Third place Russ Dickerson charged through the field from starting tenth, to take third place.  Veteran Denny Pittman was fourth and Jimmy Gustin finished fifth from starting twelfth.

The IMCA Stock Car feature win went to Wayne Gifford.  Gifford had the lead at lap two, and never relinquished it the rest of the way to the checkers.  Jay Schmidt had him in his sights for most of the 18-lap event, but try as he might, was never able to make the pass, and had to be content with second.  Donavon Smith, who last week got his 100th career win, started twelfth and finished in third place.  Fourth went to Tyler Pickett, who barely beat out Trent Murphy, in fifth, at the finish line.

Brandon Williams took home the win in the 18-lap IMCA Northern SportMod A main.  He had to run down pole sitter Thor Anderson in doing so.  Anderson led the field of cars until the persistent challenges of Williams paid off at lap fifteen when he took the lead.  Tenth place starter, Randy Roberts attempted a challenge at the leader, but fell short for a runner up finish.  Third went to early leader Thor Anderson, eleventh place starter Jake McBirnie was fourth and Jonathan Logue finished fifth from his twelfth place starting position.

Solomon Bennett led the 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature from start to finish in taking the win.  He was chased the entire distance by John Watson, who finished second.  Third place went to Dustin Lynch, last week’s winner, Eric Stanton started tenth to finish fourth, and Dustin Graham took fifth after starting in ninth position.

In the Mod Lite feature, it was Bryan Zehm capturing the victory.  Charlie Brown finished in second place, Justin Rankin was third, and Cory Dennis and tenth place starter, Joe Glick were fourth and fifth.

Racing in all five divisions continues next Saturday night, April 30.  Grandstands open at 5, hot laps are 5:45 and racing at 6:30