Braaksma, Smith, Logue, and Knutson take checkers at Boone Speedway Frostbuster

Braaksma, Smith, Logue, and Knutson take checkers at Boone Speedway Frostbuster

April 3, 2021

Boone Speedway opened its doors for the 2021 season on Saturday with the running of their Frostbuster special.  One hundred seventy-eight race cars came through the pit gates and put on a show for the crowd on hand.

Johnathon Logue took home the trophy in the 25-lap IMCA Northern SportMod feature, capturing his first ever Frostbuster win at  Iowa’s Action Track.  Logue started fifth, and quickly was battling early leader Dustin Lynch.  The two raced side-by-side for several laps before Logue was able to establish the lead for good on lap nine. He then held the top spot the remaining distance to take the checkers.  Polesitter Cam Reimers took the runner up spot, Dustin Lynch was third, Cole Fenske from Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin came from tenth starting place to finish fourth, and Austin Schrage was fifth.

The IMCA Modified 25-lap contest was not only paying $1,000 to win, but was for a place on the ballot for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.  Ethan Braaksma put that money in his pocket and his name on that ballot as he dominated, leading all laps on his way to victory.  Todd Shute finished in the runner up spot, Kyle Brown came from tenth to finish third, Tim Ward was fourth, and veteran racer Kelly Shryock was fifth.

The popular IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars were up next for another 25-lap feature.  Kyle Brown would lead all laps in this one as he held back some big contenders.  Jeff Mueller dug along on the bottom of the track as Brown preferred the top side.  A trio of Smith brothers also came calling with Devin, Donavon, and David throwing their hat into the ring in the closing laps, along with Damon Murty.  No one could make the pass, and Brown took the checkers.  He was followed across the line by Devin Smith, Jeff Mueller, Donavon Smith, Damon Murty, and David Smith. However, Brown was found to have an illegal carburetor in post race inspection, and was disqualified.  This handed the win over to Devin Smith, with Mueller, Donavon Smith, Damon Murty, and David Smith then taking the top five spots.

The night cap was 25-laps of IMCA Hobby Stock racing.  Bedford, Iowa driver Luke Ramsey looked to be on his way to taking home a Frostbuster trophy as he leaped to the lead from starting third, and held his competitors at bay as the laps wound down.  Eric Knutson and Brett Vanous battled in the closing laps for the number two spot with Knutson finally getting the upper hand, and then he set his sights on leader Ramsey.  The two ran side-by-side in the final handful of laps, and with a final surge, Knutson made the pass at the line to snatch the victory.  Ramsey had to be satisfied with second place.  Brett Vanous was third, Solomon Bennett finished fourth, and Wayne Gifford completed the top five.

The regular season points racing begins next Saturday night, April 10. Hot laps at 5, racing at 6.