Deery Brothers return for annual Memorial Day Special

Deery Brothers return for annual Memorial Day Special

The longest running special series in the Midwest is also the trademark tour for IMCA Late Models.

Now in its 28th season, the Deery Series continues to feature many of the best drivers in the full-bodied division. Based in Iowa and Illinois, the tour sees action on 18 nights before crowning a champion in October.

Like all of the IMCA special series that followed in its tire tracks, the Deery Series was started in 1987 to give Late Model drivers the opportunity to traveland compete at different venues. More than 400 races later, the series is still going strong and showing no signs of slowing down.

All Summer Series events pay a minimum of $3,000 to win and $300 to start this season. Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawings for $250 are held at each event. Pole starter and perfect attendance awards are given by series presenting sponsor Casey’s General Store. Ideal Ready Mix provides the point fund for the special race, open to drivers with perfect attendance and former champions, during the tour-ending weekend at West Liberty.

Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls is the seven-time series champion, with titles from 1987, 1988, 1996, 1999, 2006, 2009 and 2012 to his credit. Drivers with three crowns each are Gary Webb of Blue Grass in 1994, 1995 and 1997, and Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., in 1998, 2001 and 2003.

Two-time champs are Curt Martin of Independence in 1990 and 1991, Mike Smith of Jewell in 1992 and 2000, and Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill., in 2010 and 2011.

The list of previous champions also includes Jay Johnson of West Burlington in 1989, Jeff French of Adel in 1993, Terry Schlipman of Mendon, Ill., in 2002, Rob Toland of Davenport in 2004, Terry Neal of Ely in 2005, Jeremy Grady of Story City in 2007 and Boone McLaughlin of Mediapolis in 2008.

Brian Harris of Davenport matched the series record of four straight feature victories in winning the 2013 tour crown.

Aikey leads all drivers with 61 career Deery feature wins. Guss has won 29 times, Burgtorf 26, Martin 25 and Webb 22. Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown has competed at all 424 series events coming into this evening’s show. He’s won 13 features over that incredible span.

Pit gates will open at 2pm, grandstands open at 3pm, with hot laps at 4pm and racing at 5pm.

Grandstand admission is $15 for adults, teens 13-17 are $7 and kids 12 and under are $2.

Pit passes are $30.