Havlik and Ryerson celebrate 4th of July wins, Jerovetz and Zehm repeat

Havlik and Ryerson celebrate 4th of July wins, Jerovetz and Zehm repeat

July 4, 2020

Racers and fans alike celebrated the 4th of July at the Boone Speedway Saturday night.  Two drivers would get their first wins of the season, Randy Havlik in the IMCA Modifieds, and Chad Ryerson won in the IMCA Northern SportMods.  Troy Jerovetz snagged his third IMCA Stock Car win, and Bryan Zehm scored his second win of the season in the Mod Lites.  The Independence Day spectacular also included a roll over contest, leap of death, and a night ending fireworks display.

It was a STARS National event for the Mod Lite class Saturday night, bringing in drivers from across the country.  However, it was a local driver that took home the glory when Bryan Zehm took the checkers.  Zehm took the lead from Mike Kennedy at lap two,  but soon had all he could handle keeping Zac Forster from Bakersfield, California at bay.  Just after lap thirteen, a wisp of steam became evident from the California drivers car, and before another lap was scored, there she blew.  This put Mike Kennedy to the second position, and ready for the chance to catch leader Zehm.  It wasn’t to be on this night however, as Zehm kept a tight hold on that number one spot, keeping it to the flying checkers and the win.  Kennedy held the runner up spot, Randy Bryan took third, fourth went to Charlie Brown, and Jeff Stensland completed the top five.  Zehm found victory lane for the second time this year.

It was a happy Chad Ryerson in his post race interview after winning the 18-lap IMCA Northern SportMod contest.  Ryerson started sixth,  took over the top spot at lap nine but had a lot of close company coming at him hot and heavy in the likes of Doug Smith and Jonathon Logue.  Smith and Logue tussled back and forth for the second position and Ryerson was content to let them do so as he raced to the win.  Logue would finish a close second, with Smith in third.  Twelfth place starter Adam Birck, Canton, Illinois finished fourth, and Robert Moore was fifth.  This was Ryerson’s first win at the track this year.

Another first time winner came out of the Modified class when Randy Havlik took the win, in just his second night in the car.  Havlik overtook Joel Bushore to put win number one in the books.  Bushore held the runner up position, while Jake McBirnie took third.  Joel Rust came from twelfth starting spot to finish fourth, and Paul Nagel rounded out the top five. The race went caution free.

The final feature of the night was the 20-lap IMCA Stock  Car feature.  This one saw lots of action at the front of the pack as five cars went at it.  Troy Jerovetz had the lead by lap two after starting eighth.  Meanwhile, working through the pack was a trio of Smiths, and a Schmidt.  The final handful of laps saw those drivers give it their all in an attempt to catch the leader, but it was all in vain as Jerovetz crossed under the checkers first.  David Smith made it a close second, followed by brother Donovan Smith in third, Jay Schmidt finished fourth, and another Smith brother…Devin, came home in fifth.  Jerovetz won for the third time this year at the speedway.

Next Saturday, July 11 is another regular Saturday night series with racing in all classes along with a King of the Hill for the IMCA Stock Cars.  New times are pits at 4:30, grandstands 5, hot laps 6:15, and racing at 7.