Havlik, Bushnell, McBirnie and Stanton capture first wins, Brown repeats

Havlik, Bushnell, McBirnie and Stanton capture first wins, Brown repeats

May 23, 2015

Saturday night, the Boone Speedway recorded four new winners for the 2015 season, one driver getting his first ever win at the track and yet another taking a win for the second week in a row.

The Mod Lite feature was the driver visiting Victory Lane for the second week straight.  Terry Brown grabbed the lead at lap two and never looked back on his run to the checkers and the win.  It was a family affair in the division, as brother Charlie Brown finished in the runner up spot.  Third went to James May and his son Josh May was fourth.  Rounding out the top five spots was Cory Sauerman.

Jake McBirnie was in command of the 18-lap IMCA Northern SportMod feature by lap two after starting ninth.  He never relinquished it and took the win by a comfortable margin.  Chasing him most of the race was Tara Longnecker who had to be content with the runner up spot.  Third was eighth place starter Chad Ryerson, Cory Rose was scored fourth and Cody Hennings finished fifth.

The IMCA Hobby Stock 12-lap feature was on tap next.  Shaun Wirtz was the early leader but relinquished it to Eric Stanton on lap nine.  Stanton was bothered by Chad Legere in the final laps, but

Eric Stanton

IMCA Hobby Stock driver Eric Stanton took the lead on lap nine and held on for his first win of the season at Boone Speedway on Saturday, May 23, 2015.

held on to take the win, his first of the year at the speedway.  Third place was Curt Reed, fourth went to Tim Barber and Ross Marshall finished fifth.

The 20-lap Modified feature didn’t begin well as several cars piled up in corner two, calling for a complete restart.  When things did go green, pole sitter Devin Havlik shot to the lead.  Havlik had clear sailing and stretched his lead while the battle behind him was brewing.  Bob Daniels rode in second until Jimmy Gustin came calling at lap eight, taking over the runner up spot, and soon after, Gustin had his hands full with Mike VanGenderen who had taken over third spot.  Gustin and VanGenderen put on a show for the fans in the closing laps, as Havlik contentedly rode at the helm, keeping it to the finish and the win.  VanGenderen was able to get the slightest upper hand over Gustin at the finish line, as they went second and third respectively.  Fourth place was Joel Bushore who had started sixteenth, and fifth went to Scott Davis.  This was Havlik’s first time ever in the winner’s circle at Boone.

The night’s racing ended with the IMCA Stock Car’s 18-lap feature.  Cory Bushnell quickly got to the lead from his third row starting spot.  Josh Daniels settled into second, but soon had a lot of company in Trent Murphy, Jay Schmidt and Donavon Smith.  Murphy worked the top of the track and made it around Daniels to take over the runner up spot, with just a couple of laps remaining.  He made a run at leader Bushnell but fell short as the checkers flew.  Bushnell took the win, Murphy finished a close second.  Jay Schmidt, who had started tenth made it to third with a late surge and Donavon Smith and Josh Daniels finished fourth and fifth.  This was Bushnell’s first win at the track this year.

The next regular night of racing will be Saturday, May 30, when it will be racing in all five classes.  Hot laps at 6:45 and racing at 7:30.  However, the next racing at the Boone Speedway will be this coming Monday, May 25 when it will be the annual Memorial Day IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series Late Model show.  Also racing will be the IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Northern SportMods, and IMCA Hobby Stocks.  Grandstands open at 3, hot laps at 4 and racing at 5.