Martin class of the field in IMCA Deery Brothers Late Model win

Martin class of the field in IMCA Deery Brothers Late Model win

May 28, 2018

The Boys of Summer, the IMCA Deery Brothers Late Models came to town for their annual Memorial Day run at the Boone Speedway. Twenty-eight of the wide bodies checked into the pits for a day of fun and in the end, it was a veteran racer taking home the victory.  Also running for national, regional, state, and track points were the IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Northern SportMods, and the IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Veteran racer, and two-time IMCA Deery Brothers series champion, Curt Martin, took home the hardware in the 40-lap headliner feature.  Martin got the lucky pole starting position and led all but one lap when Jeremiah Hurst briefly slipped by him on lap four.  He quickly regained the lead and kept it the remaining way to the checkers and the win.  Hurst held the runner up spot, and Ryan Dolan started seventh, and finished in third.  Justin Kay, the driver who has been on fire, ending last year with a Deery win, and then winning the three series races so far this year, was going for a record five in a row, fell a bit short and finished in fourth place.  Joe Zrostlik rounded out the top five.  Yellows at lap ten and again at lap twenty-two nor lap traffic hindered Martin’s run to victory lane. Martin captured his win #27 in the IMCA Deery Brothers series, now tied with Justin Kay.

Thomas Egenberger has been close to seeing the checkers in the IMCA Northern SportMod class, but on Monday, he finally got that first career win under his belt.  Egenberger led the entire 20-laps on his way to the win, holding off Cory Rose who chased him the whole race.  Dustin Masolini wins the hard charger award, coming from seventeenth starting spot, to finish third.  Tyler Inman started eleventh, and finished fourth and Cory Pestotnik rallied from a mid-race incident to get a top five finish.

Troy Jerovetz made it to victory lane for the first time in the IMCA Stock Car class.  Jerovetz, who is a transplanted Wisconsinite, now residing in Webster City, Iowa, passed opening lap leader Wayne Gifford on lap two, and held off all challengers in the caution free 20-lap A main.  Donavon Smith closed in on the leader at times, but could muster no more than a second place finish.  Jay Schmidt worked through the field from starting eighth, to take third place, fourth went to Trent Murphy, who had started twelfth, and early leader Wayne Gifford was fifth.

Andrew Burg scored his second victory of the year at the speedway in the 15-lap finale feature.  Solomon Bennett threw several challenges at the leader, but had to settle for the runner up spot.  John Watson, who had just won on Saturday night, took third place after starting tenth.  Eleventh place starter Chanse Hollatz was fourth and pole sitter Derek Hodges completed the top five.

Racing continues at the Boone Speedway this Saturday night, June 2,  with racing in all six divisions. Early start times will continue through the month of June with hot laps at 5:45 and racing at 6:30.