Shute, Ward and Smith big winners at P1Promotions Challenge and Watermelon Classic

Shute, Ward and Smith big winners at P1Promotions Challenge and Watermelon Classic

August 1, 2020

It was another special night of racing at the Boone Speedway on Saturday. The draw/redraw night was not only the 6th Annual P1Promotions Modified Challenge but also the Watermelon Classic.  There was extra money on the line in all IMCA classes, plus those infamous watermelons to heat and feature winners.

The IMCA Modifieds qualified for the Modified Challenge race through timing, heats, and passing points.  The top twelve then drew for their starting spots for the 15-lap prestigious event.  Cody Laney and Todd Shute were the lucky front row starters.  Laney immediately had the lead as the race went green with fourth place starter Kyle Brown and Todd Shute hot on his tail.  Brown made the pass into the lead by lap two, and was holding back Shute.  Brown held the lead until lap ten when Shute snatched it away.  He would then go the distance and take the checkers and the $1000 pay off.  Brown finished second, Nick Meyer started eighth and finished third, just getting by fourth place Cody Laney in the closing moments.  Joel Rust rounded out the top five.

The D & E Outside Services IMCA Modified regular feature event of the night went 30 laps, paid $1,200 and was a Fast Shafts Qualifier to be on the ballot for the Super Nationals All-Star race.  Tim Ward and Richie Gustin had a good battle going until Gustin was suddenly off power while leading just after lap eighteen was in the books.  This gave Ward back the lead, which he would keep the remainder of the way to the checkers and the win.  He finished comfortably ahead of second place Ethan Dotson, followed by Jake McBirnie in third, Cody Laney in fourth, and Nick Meyer was fifth.  Ward matched his win from last week.

The Arnold Motor Supply IMCA Stock Cars were also running for $1000 pay day in their 25 lap A main.  Joel Rust led the field of cars to green and claimed the top spot.  By lap two, sixth place starter Donavon Smith was up to challenge Rust and applying the pressure.  The tussle between the two ended when Smith snatched the lead on lap eight, never to relinquish it the remaining distance to the flying checkers.  Fifth place starter Tony Hofbauer chased Smith much of the latter portion of the race, and finished second.  Jay Schmidt pestered Hofbauer most of the race  and finished an ever so close third place.  A pair of Smith brothers, David and Devin completed the top five.  This was Donavon Smith’s third trip to victory lane this season.

The Elmquist Towing IMCA Northern SportMods were running for $750 in their 23 lap feature event.  Colton Nelson, Osceola, Iowa racer held the upper hand through the halfway mark of the race, after having to hold off a hard charging Johnathon Logue.  Then who should throw his hat into the ring, but Nelson’s brother Garrett Nelson.  Garrett Nelson had to qualify through a B main, started twenty-first and was tailing his brother on lap fifteen.  Two laps later, Garrett took the lead and from there on, held it to the finish line and the win.  Johnathon Logue would finish as the runner up, Colton Nelson took third place, Ryan King was fourth and Robert Moore took fifth after starting in fourteenth starting spot.  This was the first time that Nelson had won at the speedway.

Mike Smith started on the pole of the 20-lap IMCA Pickett Salvage Hobby Stock feature, and led all laps to take the win along with $500.   He finished well ahead of second place Curt Reed.  Eric Knutson took third after starting in twelfth spot, Dylan Nelson was fourth, and Seth Janssen was fifth.  Smith repeated his win from last week, and claimed his third of the year.

Travis Stensland got his first win of the year in the My Race Pass Mod Lites.  Stensland led all 15-laps on his way to the checkers.  Bryan Zehm finished a distant second, Mike Kennedy took third, fourth went to visiting racer Dillon Raffurty from Kansas City, Missouri, and Jon Braathun finished fifth.

Racing continues next Saturday night, August 8, with racing in all classes.  Grandstands open at 5, hot laps at 6, and the green flag drops at 7.