Stock Car RoC

Stock Car RoC

Fifty-two drivers competed and the top two finishers from each of five qualifying heats advance to Saturday’s 2014 IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey'sSunoco Race Fuels Race of Champions for Stock Cars.

Former race winners Mike Nichols (2004) and Kevin Opheim (2008) topped the first two heats, both while qualifying for the Sunoco RoC for the seventh time.

By heat, the top two were:

1st heat –  1. Mike Nichols, Harlan; 2. Devin Smith, Lake City.

2nd heat – 1. Kevin Opheim, Mason City; 2. Matt Guillaume, Haslet, Texas.

3rd heat 1. Nathan Wood, Sigourney; 2. Michael Jaennette, Newton.

4th heat – 1. Scott Pippert, Elberon; 2. Dan Mackenthun, Hamburg, Minn.

5th heat – 1. Todd Reitzler, Grinnell; 2. Travis VanStraten, Hortonville, Wis.

Pippert qualified for his second career Sunoco Race of Champions. Guillaume, Jaennette, Mackenthun, Reitzler, Smith, VanStraten and Wood all are in for the first time.

The winner’s share of the purse is $500; lap money is also at stake.